15
Apr
07

Twenty-four things about the last 24 hours

1. Our friend’s birthday party was a success. Many people that I didn’t know, some of whom I now do.

2. I don’t remember any of their names. I’m like that.

3. We copied out our Page 50 quotations and put them on a billboard covering an entire wall.

4. Mine was the only one in English. It also ran the longest. I like Paul Theroux very much.

5. I managed to copy down a few others. I hope to translate them over the next day or so.

6. The evening flowed like the meanderings of a slow-moving river stretching back many years.

7. At one point, I came up behind a beautiful woman, put my arms around her, kissed her on the neck, told her she was beautiful and that I loved what she was wearing.

8. That woman was my wife.

9. I started off with champagne and then shifted to beer. Sometimes I’m downwardly mobile.

10. After we had dinner, some got up and started to play music. Two were on guitar, another on electric piano, while two sang.

11. All the songs were in English, but everyone knew the words. I tried not to sing too loudly when they played the Beatles tunes.

12. We rode our bikes there. On the way home, there was a minor earthquake.

13. As I was riding along, the ground shifted. This made me lose my balance.

14. I was instantly reminded how much it hurts when flesh hits pavement.

15. My brand-new glasses got bent all out of shape, to boot.

16. K put on a band-aid when we got home to stop the bleeding. I think my leather jacket needs dry cleaning now.

17. Sometimes I think I’m the world’s oldest teenager.

18. I learned back when I was 15 not to mix different types of booze, and never drink the last one no matter how much you want it.

19. Sometimes I wonder if I’m setting a good example for my 10-year-old.

20. Those last three are just musings, but I’m leaving them in anyway.

21. I just remembered that I wrote two haikus to Haikus yesterday morning and can be found at the bottom of this post’s comments list. I hope he doesn’t think I’m a Canadian idiot.

22. I am dreading the sunrise, because that just means it will be closer to the time I have to head to work.

23. In the last 24 hours, I also had some content stolen from this blog. The thief is a splogger. They are nasty creatures.

24. I sent them a polite request to take my content down off their site. Most Canadians are polite, and mean what they say. Beware of exceptions.


17 Responses to “Twenty-four things about the last 24 hours”


  1. April 15, 2007 at 7:22 am

    I’m a Theroux fan too. just picked up a copy of Fresh Air Fiend for $2.00. there’s a chapter on German humour in it….

  2. April 15, 2007 at 8:30 am

    I wish I could naturally write haikus as you do.

  3. April 15, 2007 at 9:34 am

    nurse, I think I need a thorough Theroux transfusion right now
    … and have you seen that you have had your comment box spammed? A splogger is scraping your blog as well.

    pino,
    I learned that Haiku
    Has five, seven, and then five
    It’s no more than that

  4. 4 Melanie
    April 16, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Well, I figured since I had a little time I’d just go through the whole site and read what there was to read. (well, not the whole sight I guess, I haven’t looked at the LanneyAnders posts, and I didn’t click on any of the pretty blue words. Now that I’m here at the comment part of fulfilling my promise to visit this site I realize I should have been taking notes.
    Let’s see….I caught the reference to kings and knights in bed. Lisa and I did something similar, in our misspent youth but it involved beating the hell out of each other and getting into trouble.
    I also recognised Dad’s method of talking to your teen about growing up, and now I know where he learned THAT behavior from. I think I may have gotten the same copy of “What Teenagers Want to Know”. Although I may have found that publication more useful than you did as there were like, ten tips on how to alleviate cramps. (Three of them actually worked)
    So I was wondering, how hard is it to ski and film at the same time? I would think such a feat would inevitably lead to a brief but dissatisfying liason with a tree. (on second thought, I don’t recall seeing any trees) Your little red-headed girl is pretty good on the slopes, although it does beg the question ‘where is Charlie Brown?’
    I have a picture that you took of me in my head, sort of walking down the tracks in Creston, looking at my feet. I always see that picture when you mention the “Trudeau conversation”. The unfortunate reason for that is that I have no recolection whatsoever of that conversation. Nor, in fact, do I remember having an opinion of him of any kind. I’m glad I managed to make an impression though. Hopefully I still have my moments and continue to present myself as a reasonably intelligent person.
    As much as I hate reading the computer (it being very hard to not only read in bed but roll over on my side while pulling the covers up to my chin and curling up with the computer dangling from one hand. Also, paper doesn’t, as a rule, glow.Well, if it does one might consider first checking the lighting, and then personal drug content. Very tough on the eyes, is glowing reading material.) I quite enjoyed reading your blog. (even typing it the word blog still manages to stick in my throat) As a lover of the written word (especially words that I’ve written) I can really understand the appeal of having a forum to speak my mind, include some subtle and horrible puns, nods to deserving artisans, quotes, and of course giving philisophic a regular wax job. My only concern is that readers may recieve teeth marks from the sarcasm of my normal mental dialogue. (Normal for me and most cranky octogenarians anyway) But I digress.
    I hope I found the intended reference, and I’m damn glad I read yer blog.
    Love ya bunches,
    Melanie

  5. April 16, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Those pretty blue words?
    Giving philosophic a regular wax job?

    MELANIE!!! I congratulate you on having the longest and perhaps funniest comment here so far. You – voluntary insomniac – just might reconsider, cast aside your Luddite tendencies and love for the printed page and get one of your own. In less time than it takes to make a cup of filter coffee you could do so, and it costs less. Like zero, unless you want one with bells, whistles and its own little train set.

    Speaking of which, I am going to dig out that photo of you on the train tracks and post it, if that’s OK with you. I’m glad you found the reference.

    With the right-sized laptop and wireless LAN you can also blawg from bed.

    Charlie Brown is lurking around some corner down the road, I’m sure. Can we just fast-forward through the next few years, please?

    If you can walk and chew bubblegum at the same time, you can ski and film. But you need a point-and-slide camera, of course, and it is indeed wise to be above the treeline. That guy Cliff shouldn’t be around either.

    … are my puns really that horrible? Should I put a warning label on them? Attention: may cause hurlage to occur if handled incorrectly.

    I hope in your closing the verb “read” is not only past but will also be future tense.

    love you too,
    Ian

  6. April 16, 2007 at 11:36 am

    hey melanie if you start a blog I’ll add you to my roll….

  7. April 16, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Hey mel, you’re doing better than I did… haven’t even started a blog, and you’ve already got a fan!

  8. 8 Vorpal
    April 17, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Ahem.
    … are my puns really that horrible? Should I put a warning label on them?

    ‘Horrible’ is high praise (if not the highest) for a pun. Also high on the list is “That stinks!”, because it indicates you truly are a pun gent.

    –VS

  9. 9 Vorpal
    April 17, 2007 at 3:01 am

    Haiku is much more than 5-7-5
    See: http://www.haikuhut.com/Haiku%20Definition.htm

    If the above link wrapped – tough. If you’re functional enough to be reading this, you’re functional enough to re-connect a wrapped link.

    In the late ’70s I drove cab, and one day in an unusually early spring, a Japanese gentleman got into my taxi at the airport. He was not truly an expat, but had been absent from home many months, buying lumber. As we drove toward downtown, we passed a row of ornamental cherries in full blossom. He asked me to stop, then got out and stood under a tree for a time. When we were again underway, he said an haiku (in Japanese). Then promptly burst into tears. When he again spoke, he told me that of all the things of Japan he missed, it was most painful to know he would not see them, but he had found them. I asked if he would like to see more, and we drove around for the better part of the day looking at the beauty of Vancouver in early spring. He told me of the Haiku he had said. I do not know if he made it up or not, nor do I remember anything he told me about it, other than the seasonal reference, the personal link, and the twist. We did not speak of the tears.

    In his honour:

    in a foreign land
    cherry blossoms and a tear
    introduce a friend

    –Vorpal

  10. April 17, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Bru,
    I hope he remembers that day too.

    From the link you left, my favourite line:
    There is no single expert in haiku, and the masters sometimes broke their own rules with little more comment than a shrug of the shoulders.

    I have never heard of senryu, but I like the idea of a form that deals humourously or even sarcastically with ‘human nature,’ all tied up in a little bow.

    In America
    Many dead, the world stops.
    In Iraq? Slow news day.

    I bow to the master, O Vorpal,
    Your pungence stinging in my eyes,
    Like a Stinktier.

  11. April 17, 2007 at 6:38 am

    I like lists.

    Numbers 12 – 16 sounded painful. And weird. Who could imagine riding a bike during an earthquake?

    I’ve never heard the term ‘splogger’ before. I think I like it….

    I’m still yet to master number 18…

  12. April 17, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Vanessa,
    Yeah, number 18 got me too…you see, it was a self-inflicted earthquake.

  13. April 17, 2007 at 6:50 am

    Oh! Well that’s a different story then. I have suffered many bruises from self-inflicted earthquakes and bicycles. Not for many years, but I was quite the casualty there in my teens.

    Kind of coincided with learning Number 18.

    It all fits now…

  14. 14 Douglas
    April 21, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Welcome to web 2.0 Ian. I love the 24 hrs. list. and I think you’re behind me in the oldest teen category. I’ve fallen down stairs in the last year after a party! ouch!!

  15. April 21, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Hi Douglas!

    What I never added was that after 48 hours I had a shiner that looked as if I’d been in a brawl. Plus an imprint of my handlebars on the upper chest extending up to the throat. Close one.

  16. 16 Melanie
    June 11, 2007 at 7:13 am

    I’m doing better at keeping current with your blog, only had two months to read this time. Been busy lately what with the horrors of turning twenty-seven on the 3rd (horrors being that I can no longer pretend I’m still seventeen and have plenty of time to decide what I want to be when I grow up. All I really want to be is happy without the pill cocktail. The REAL question is, how.) As for the horrible puns I was infact refering to the things I would write in my blog, if and when I should ever start one.

  17. June 11, 2007 at 7:40 am

    Melanie,
    You’re welcome back anytime – good to have you! I believe you would have a lot of fun blogging.

    Just as 50 is the new 40, remember that 30 is the new 20. OK, maybe 25. Actually, just as there has always been a label for mid-life crisis, there is now a specific term for what people your age are going through. Well, then again it’s only a Wikipedia entry I stumbled upon, but I can see the crap I went through between 25 and 29 in the list and description it gives.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 518,236 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

