30
Apr
07

Hooray hooray, the First of May, smashing capitalism starts today!

Dear all,

I don’t know, I’ve only been living here for 10 years, but will someone please explain to me this German fascination with fighting the last war? No no, not That War. That’s the one we’re not supposed to mention. I mean the Cold War. East vs West. Communism vs Capitalism. Trabant vs Triumph.

I ask this because the first of May is coming up again. As a Canadian, this date usually passed me by with no special meaning, because we along with the Americans have our Labour Day the first Monday in September. But in many countries of Europa it is a national holiday set aside for advancing the cause of workers’ rights, a worthy goal which as a voluntary dues-paying union member I do support.

blogsmash.jpg But there are parts of it I just don’t get. Take this poster. A quickie Babelfish will tell you that under the slogan of “Destroy what’s destroying you,” they want everybody to rally against Wages, the State and Capital.

Okay….

Correct me if I’m wrong, but didn’t we try that already? The State pretended to pay everyone by handing them near-worthless money, so the workers turned around and pretended to be at work. Result: the Trabant, delivery in 11 years, give or take. Hundreds killed trying to escape the country’s borders. And enough material for a few good films illustrating just how bleak a life it must have been.

The far left is not alone in this endless display of long-spent political capital. The extreme right demonstrates whenever and wherever it can get a permit, usually a handful of peeled eggs in leather boots facing a much larger contingent of left-wing counter-demonstrators, with 10 times their number decked out in full police riot gear just to keep the two sides from tearing each other apart.

I’m not advocating people abandon their beliefs, or that they have no right to demonstrate for them, nor even set a tire or two on fire if that’s how they get their kicks, but please, get a grip people. If mental illness can also be defined as doing the same thing over and over, year in and year out, expecting results to be different every time, especially if history shows that what you’re screaming about has been tried and failed, time to face reality.

All for now,

Ian

PS: I can’t believe that in the States they gave that film a Restricted rating. No wait – I can believe it.


4 Responses to “Hooray hooray, the First of May, smashing capitalism starts today!”


  1. April 30, 2007 at 10:52 am

    The Lives of Others is the best film I’ve seen so far this year (and I see one or two every week).

    for some strange reason I have even developed a crush on Ulrich

  2. 2 merman the munster
    May 1, 2007 at 5:37 am

    Keep up the GOOOODd work!!!

  3. May 1, 2007 at 7:39 am

    merman,
    welcome! i must say though: cryptic is one thing, indecipherable is quite another… a clue please!

    good nurse,
    i can recommend another fine german film called Die Fälscher – The Counterfeiters – based on a true story of a convicted forger who landed in a concentration camp and forced to lead a group of men counterfeiting US dollars, british pounds etc in a nazi effort to destroy their wartime economies. great story well told.

  4. May 1, 2007 at 10:31 am

    It’s not released here yet. I’ll put it on the top of my list….


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 588 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 508,984 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

