29
Jul
07

Has anyone stolen your writing lately?

Well I had a post in the bag all ready to go, and then this comes up…

Lorelle on WordPress said a while ago that getting your blog content stolen isn’t ever going to be a matter of if, but when.

But still, I thought: OK, I’ll deal with it when it happens.

So now it’s happened.

Some”blogger” in China is harvesting WordPress.com blogs at a tremendous rate, sticking them up on his site as if they were his own, slapping Google Adsense ads on it to boot.

I would provide a link to the blog just to prove my point, but therein lies the problem: If you point to him and say “LOOK, he’s stolen my stuff,” and provide a link, all he is going to get are more hits and more money from Google.

Since I raised a stink in WordPress’ forums the past couple of days, the “blogger” has taken down my content, but that still leaves I don’t know how many bloggers on WordPress – and perhaps elsewhere – whose material is being sucked through the intertubes for deposit at some slime-hill called… damn, I can’t say it. I won’t say it!

I left a comment at another WordPress blogger’s blog to let her know that her photos had also been stolen, but I have no time to extend that courtesy to everyone.

So all I have to give is an Open Letter To You, Thieving Blogger.

I’ll make an exception this time. You MAY steal this and place it on your blog front and centre:

I am a thief.

This blog is a fraud.

I am trying to make money off other people.

I have absolutely nothing to contribute to the millions of blogs already out there, so I will be a parasite.

Please click on the Google Adsense ads, which drape these stolen goods like stinking vapour.

I will make money the easy way that way.

That is all.

Perhaps I was just born unlucky.

PS: If you want to check whether your content is being thrown up on another site and passed off as original, check out copyscape. Just type in your URL. Who knows, you might get an eye-opener like I did.

© 2007 lettershometoyou
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank


28 Responses to “Has anyone stolen your writing lately?”


  1. 1 timethief
    July 29, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    Actually when a blogger has adsense ads on a blog there can be hell to pay if Google suspects the blogger is clicking his own adsense links or has enetered an agreement with friends and family to click them.

    If you so choose you could click the dickens out of those links and the Google adsense team then may respond by investigating the thieving blogger in question.

  2. July 29, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Hi tt,
    Cool idea. I tend to think though: ewww. get me away!

  3. July 30, 2007 at 3:18 am

    Hey Ian,

    Sorry to hear of you being robbed. I hope those thieves won’t give you second thoughts on posting materials. That will be a true lost.

    Thanks for the link to copyscape but I don’t think I have the nerve to use it as I know I will be spending too much time and be too angry if I found that someone has been robbing me too.

    Best Regards,
    Kempton

  4. July 30, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    kempton, don’t worry – I’m not going away!

  5. July 30, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I am very sorry to hear about your recent comment theft problems, I just wanted to say that I’m here if I can help.

    I’m very experienced with battling these kinds of plagiarsts and I will gladly do what I can to help you if you need it.

    Just send me an email with any information and I’ll see what I can do.

  6. July 30, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Hi there. Sorry to hear content from your blog was copied. Thanks for providing the link to ‘copyspace’. I just keyed in my blog URL and found two results. I’m little lost as to what one of them is. The other i’ve figured has removed my post from that particular website. Is there anything i can do about this?
    This is my blog URL
    http://wishywashyflowerchild.wordpress.com

  7. July 30, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    hi flowerchild,
    if you find that the ecuadorianshoeproject (??) has copied your stuff, send them an email or comment telling them that it is your original material, that they have no right to copy it, and to please remove it. let me know how it goes, ok?

  8. July 30, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    They’ve already removed my stuff from their website, that is why I was wondering if i should do anything about it

  9. 9 Joseph
    July 31, 2007 at 12:45 am

    Ian,
    I really appreciate your writing and was wondering if you could send me an email regarding a potential guest post on my site.
    Thanks,
    Joseph

  10. July 31, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    flowerchild,
    if they’ve removed it from their site, count yourself among the lucky ones. unfortunately there are still many more who are unaware.

    joseph,
    sending you an email tout de suite..

  11. August 1, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    What struck me about your thread on WP Forums is that the owner of My 1983 actually commented and is a WP member. Why the wp.com folks don’t jettison this blog, I don’t understand. And don’t give me any excuses about then having to police all blogs. The members whose stuff gets ripped off will police for wp.com, so what’s stopping them? This is an abuse and violation.

    BTW, I sent my Cease & Desist note to My 1983, and instead of our stuff being deleted, they responded by stealing two pieces immediately after I sent the note. I’m furious.

  12. August 1, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    bones,
    i think that for the time being it’s something we’re just going to have to get used to. this guy is not on wordpress.com like you or I, but has merely bought wordpress blogging software. they’re two different things. he is hosted on his own or a third-party site.
    raincoaster said it something like this in the forums: if a bank robber peels away from the bank in an Audi, you can’t go after Audi. Same thing here.

    I know it’s a bummer, but if you or anyone else has any suggestions, feel free.

  13. August 1, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    I see. His membership on the WP Forum is what made me think he was on wp.com. No ideas beyond what folks threw out on the forum thread, all of which lead to a general sense of resignation.

    BTW, I just noticed the searches that coughed up your blog. Cuddly butt. Hmmm. Whip me bloody. No wonder My 1983 is loving you.

  14. August 1, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    i wish the feeling were mutual. ;-)

  15. August 4, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Ian, just remember that the scrapers don’t read the posts they scrape. How can they when there are thousands of posts grabbed at any one time?

    So tackling the issue behind the scenes is always better than on your blog, but tell the world that the “if” is “now” and warn folks that their blogs have been scraped so all can take action.

    For Google to ban a blog for copyright violations, it has to have more than one report. Often many reports against it until it takes action. The same with web hosts and advertisers.

    So everyone needs to be alerted and fight back. Together, we can stop this.

    Thanks for spreading the word.

  16. August 4, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Sure would like to know who to contact at google because he is still doing it. Just found another post he’s copied.

  17. August 5, 2007 at 3:22 am

    I had mine stolen too and left quite a few comments on other bloggers about that site but I believe it all went to Akismet’s spam folders due to my link to them to prove to them that their contents have been stolen.

    I went to the site just now, the Adsense have been removed and the design changed. The contents are still being stolen from other sites.

  18. August 11, 2007 at 12:59 am

    I recently had a blogger whose blog was hosted at WordPress.com publish one of my reprint articles. The blogger removed my byline. They did not just do this to me, but several authors. I was pleased with how quickly WordPress handled the issue.

  19. August 11, 2007 at 4:26 am

    rose,
    oh yeah, great community out there at wordpress.com. whenever i have a problem, i ask in the forum for a solution and people are out there giving it within minutes. it’s the blogs hosted outside the circle of wordpress.com that are the problem – and of course they outnumber us about 60 – 1!

  20. September 10, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    It certainly stinks! I’m glad there’s something that can be done about it when someone steals your blog post. It’s good that you’re on the lookout for these thieves.

    What about when your articles (as opposed to blog posts) have been stolen? I just found out that one of my articles, Living With Food Allergies and Sensitivities http://ezinearticles.com/?Living-With-Food-Allergies-and-Sensitivities&id=1372715 was stolen by two different people – one’s on a blog, one’s on a website; it looks as if they both have posted the article as their own work instead of giving credit and including the resource box as the publisher’s agreement requires. I’ve contacted the site owners, and their ISP/Hosts, and I’m waiting. Is there anything else I can do, short of hiring an attorney? Thank you.

  21. September 11, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Hi Jennifer,

    If they’ve merely cited your article with a link back to you then that’s fair, but if they’ve lifted it in its entirety then you have already done the right thing.

    Please bear in mind that I’m not a lawyer, but if the latter happened to me and I got no response to my request to take it down, I’d certainly hire a lawyer to fire off a letter to them.

    If they’re based outside your country this might be a problem, however. The internet has opened up so many legal questions that way.

  22. November 14, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Ian, just wanted to give you an update. One was in the US, one in China, and neither one wanted to be cooperative – the man in China told ME to remove MY article from ezinearticles.com. The nerve.
    I worked my way up the food chain, and found out that both website hosts are in the US. I sent digital millenium copyright act notification to both webhosts, and within 48 hours of that: problem solved. The Chinese site is still up, but with no trace of my work; the US site, which is a blog, is completely gone.

    Thank you for your help, Ian.
    Jennifer Harshman

  23. November 14, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Hello Jennifer,
    Thanks for letting me know – that is great news! You’ve shown that it pays to keep at it until you get results.

  24. November 17, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    thanks for this post. It helped me a lot. Btw How you get ideas for such posts. sorry if it’s out of topic.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 514,689 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

