07
Aug
07

Please help me get Google to pull their ads from a blogging thief

The theft of my material and that of others at wordpress.com by a thief in China continues.

If you are coming to this blog for the first time because you have received an email from me or seen my blog comment telling you that your work has been stolen, once again: I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news. I have been contacting two or three people a day for the past week telling them the same thing.

He’s trying to make money off YOUR material, but with your help we can get Google to pull his ads.

Your first step if this is the first time it’s happened to you is to read What to do when someone steals your content at Lorelle on WordPress. Follow the instructions, which include telling the thief that the content is yours and that he should take it down immediately.

Next is to click on the Google Adsense logo at the bottom of his Adsense ads on his so-called blog – NOT the ads themselves! – and fill out a violation form on the feedback page which comes up.

This only takes a few seconds and will add to the growing number of people who are sick and tired of seeing their work published by thieves hoping to make money off it.

I’m thinking about going back in and sticking a note at the end of every post, something like: This post first appeared in Lettershometoyou, with a link back to my blog. The copyright thingy isn’t having much effect.

I notice he didn’t steal this post. Wonder why.

© 2007 lettershometoyou
add to del.icio.us :: :: add to </p>
<p>furl” /></a> :: <a href=Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: ::


16 Responses to “Please help me get Google to pull their ads from a blogging thief”


  1. August 7, 2007 at 6:41 am

    The form you fill out with Adsense will only get you an email that says you have to write it all down on paper, with copies of your stuff and the scraped content, and mail it to an address.

    Please do that, but also take advantage of the Google Webmaster Tools Spam Report to report directly to Google, bypassing the paper route and DMCA stuff.

    According to Matt Cutts, if they get enough reports about a site, they are more willing to take action.

    Everyone involved needs to take action now.

    Thanks for keeping on this and for all that you are doing!

  2. August 7, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Thanks Lorelle.
    I haven’t even got that email yet.

    But if I understand correctly, Google, the biggest and most powerful website in the world, wants you to SNAIL MAIL them from halfway around the world with the same material they can also see if you merely send them a link?

    Absurd.

    And now this update: this very post you’ve just read has been copied by another blog. How fitting, I guess.

  3. August 8, 2007 at 2:32 am

    To contact Google directly, you can submit the information through their Google Report Spam form or the Webmaster Tools Report Spam Form.

    And yes, Adsense requires reports via mail or fax in compliance with these instructions:

    To file a notice of infringement with us, you must provide a written communication (by fax or regular mail, not by email) that sets forth the items specified below. Please note that pursuant to that Act, you may be liable to the alleged infringer for damages (including costs and attorneys’ fees) if you materially misrepresent that you own an item when you in fact do not. Accordingly, if you are not sure whether you have the right to request removal from our service, we suggest that you first contact an attorney.

    To expedite our ability to process your request, please use the following format (including section numbers):

    1. Identify in sufficient detail the copyrighted work that you believe has been infringed upon. For example, “The copyrighted work at issue is the text that appears on http://www.legal.com/legal_page.html.”

    2. Identify the material that you claim is infringing upon the copyrighted work listed in item #1 above. You must identify each page that allegedly contains infringing material by providing its URL.

    3. Provide information reasonably sufficient to permit Google to contact you (email address is preferred).

    4. Include the following statement: “I have a good faith belief that use of the copyrighted materials described above on the allegedly infringing webpages is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.”

    5. Include the following statement: “I swear, under penalty of perjury, that the information in the notification is accurate and that I am the copyright owner or am authorized to act on behalf of the owner of an exclusive right that is allegedly infringed.”

    6. Sign the paper.

    7. Send the written communication to the following address:

    Google, Inc.
    Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints
    1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
    Mountain View CA 94043

    OR Fax to:

    (650) 618-8507, Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints

  4. August 8, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Lorelle,
    That info is going to save me a lot of time and I thank you very much for it. Being able to fax it makes it a lot easier! I’ll let you know what happens.

  5. August 8, 2007 at 5:06 am

    Best of luck Ian. I have gone very far to launch my complains to try to get them solved, so I understand how you feel right now.

    At the same time, I hope this experience wouldn’t spoil your joy in blogging as that will be sad.

    Now, I don’t know will this story cheers you up or not but I am giving it a try.

    http://kempton.wordpress.com/2007/06/22/john-doyle-and-ouimet/

  6. August 9, 2007 at 1:54 am

    Add me to your list of folks to “agitate” should this occur again. My blog partner and I were pulling our hair out, but the task of hand seemed immense. I’m kind of ashamed that I didn’t persist the way you did.

  7. 7 Sid
    August 10, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Just wanted to wish you luck with your request. I get at least a few websites stealing content from my blog every week and have to deal with DMCAs frequently.

    One note I can recommend is that Google will allow you to email them a scan (or high-res photo) of the complaint instead of snail-mailing or faxing.

    Google’s adsense violations department is notoriously difficult to deal with on these matters and as far as I’m concerned it seems like Google’s policy is to make it very hard for original copyright owners to get action taken. For example, I had a site scraping all the content from my blog and Google expected me to list every piece of content before they would issue a ban (we’re talking hundreds of posts here). When I replied saying it was simply too time consuming they didn’t respond.

    As I said, good luck.

  8. August 11, 2007 at 4:23 am

    ybonesy,
    no need to feel ashamed – it’s kind of time-consuming.
    Sid – it seems to have worked for now, but if it’s a site using other ads, not Google Adsense, it’s not as quick to get results. I’m very surprised you ran into such bureaucracy with them.

  9. August 12, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Thank you for letting me know my story was stolen. Thank you also for taking steps to remedy the situation.

    I am a very newbie blogger and did not know, until I got your message, that this went on.

    Thanks so much for notifying me. And, for all of the information about what steps to take on your site.

  10. August 12, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    hi jolynna – i’ve only been at this a few months myself! i’m glad my posts helped you out.

  11. October 26, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    You helped me a few weeks ago in the wordpress forum when I wrote about someone stealing my posts. It worked out well in the end after I emailed them a few times and asked that they be removed.

    Now it’s happened again and this time, they have google ads on them. I saved this link that you gave me in case it happened again. So here I am.

    I’m going to follow the instructions here and see if it will help. Thanks again!

  12. October 26, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Hi Kirstin,

    Good luck! Let me know if you run into any difficulties with the info I’ve left, OK? It’s worked for me.

  13. October 26, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I just wrote up my letter and will get it in the mail today. I’ll let you know how it all goes.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 518,285 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

