03
Jan
08

Blogging into the Guinness Book of World Records

Lorelle over at Lorelle onWordpress has challenged bloggers to come up with a list of world records bloggers could break.

I don’t often feel compelled to respond to these things, but this one might be fun.

Besides, it’s been one hell of a long time since I’ve set any records.

Nothing close to Guinness Book material, but back in high school I managed to overcome a chronic state of laziness and sloth to set school records in the 200- and 400-metre sprints, advancing to the BC provincial finals in the 400. The school had been around for a few decades by then, so I figure I’d done pretty well. That is, until the next year, when both records were shattered by twin brothers, coached by the same teacher who trained us so well the previous year. Thank you, Mr. Hotston.

track-and-field-vancouver.jpg

I came in last in the provincial finals race down in Vancouver that year, but in true Canadian fashion, I can still claim some victory: I had to beat out several others in heats to qualify for the final, ran a personal best of just over 50 seconds, and the CBC broadcast it live, so everyone in my home town saw me on TV. That was fun.

But Blogging yourself into the Guinness Book of World Records? Let’s see.

  1. Deepest post. Submarines and oil platforms not permitted.
  2. Highest post. No hand-helds, must be on ground.
  3. Fastest post. Probably the space shuttle?
  4. Longest post in shortest length of time.
  5. Most posts in one 24-hour period. Minimum 500 words per post. Any language. No blogthings, no youtube, no plagiarism. One link minimum, one original photo per post.
  6. Most posts in one 24-hour period without using your fingers, toes or voice software.
  7. Greatest number of comments made in one 24-hour period.
  8. Blogging marathon. One five-minute break per hour. Last blogger to fall asleep wins. Tea and coffee permitted. No energy drinks.
  9. Greatest number of scrapers, sploggers and spammers kicked in the butt in one 24-hour period. That one I’d love to try.
  10. Longest time spent staring at a screen logged into WordPress with a milk bottle balanced on your head while enduring the psychotic warblings of Mr. Bungle.

Better stop there. Quite honestly, I’m sure this post won’t set any records either.

© 2008 lettershometoyou


11 Responses to “Blogging into the Guinness Book of World Records”


  1. January 4, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Just over 50s for the 400m is pretty good, I am impressed. Do you still have the shorts?

  2. January 4, 2008 at 3:36 am

    You had me with “deepest post”. That’s brilliant! Excellent list.

    Now, what would be the requirements for the deepest post? Hmmm.

    Number 9 is done annually with the Blogathon. :D

  3. January 4, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    how old are you in that photograph? it is you isn’t it?

  4. January 4, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    nurse – oh, it’s me all right. Just turned 17, last year of high school.

    Dr.Steve – I’m sentimental about a lot of things, but hanging on to old shorts ain’t one of them. But that’s not what you’re getting at, is it?

    Lorelle – glad you liked the list. Let me know when you have a blogathon near Hamburg, and I’ll be first in line. :-)

  5. January 5, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Ha! The Blogathon is at Blogathon.org and it’s every July. Anyone in the world can participate. The problem is proving if they are sitting down while they are blogging. Hmm, that’s the trick. We need video cameras simulcasting ever blogger. :D

  6. January 5, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Lorelle – that’s funny. But how is that going to get bloggers out of the house more – especially in July? ;-)

  7. 7 Cat
    January 5, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Awesome list with some very good ideas!

    Blogathon sounds like fun!

  8. January 5, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    my my you were a well developed lad at 17 :-)

  9. January 5, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Oh nurse, I bet you say that to all the boys. ;-)

  10. January 5, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    “but in true Canadian fashion, I can still claim some victory”…hahaha…

    Now about that #6…there must be a way…I will find a way…


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 514,896 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

