24
Feb
08

Metaphorically speaking, memes are like, whatever

I have been a meme avoider the past few weeks, but can wriggle out no longer.

I know I’m not alone, because based on what I’ve been reading lately, a lot of people hate memes. Hate writing them. Hate receiving them. Hate reading them. One blogger has gone so far as to declare his site a meme-free zone. In his sidebar, he writes:

Many thanks to those of you thoughtful enough to tag Deutschland über Elvis with a meme. Owing to the large number of such requests, the tedium of the subject matter (usually personal details I am loathe to disclose) and the lack of sufficient online friends to forward, this blog will no longer respond to memes. Thank you for your understanding. Now fuck off.

But before the ever-so-diplomatic Mr. Headbang8, Esq. undertook such drastic measures, he did tag me with a meme. And since I understand the well-intentioned thoughts behind recognising the efforts of fellow bloggers, and in the spirit of camaraderie, I am now going to do an all-in-one cluster-fuck meme.

The first one is for headbang and Renal Failure, who both gave me the E for Excellence writing award.

excellentblog.jpg

Headbang has ordained that I come up with three of my own examples based on that most likely bogus viral list of boneheaded high school essay similes and metaphors.

Here goes.

She had such a bad cold, her nose was running like water from a tap that needs fixing but nobody ever bothers to get around to it, because plumbers are expensive, you know.

Her eyes were twinkling like Liberace’s diamond-encrusted jacket used to, except that Liberace was a man, and a total poof as well, so I doubt if that counts, considering that when her eyes were doing all that sparkling, she was looking into the eyes of her man-hunk of a lover, who did have his effeminate side, but he wasn’t a poof, at least not that anyone knew at the time, though you never know for sure.

He struggled to find the right words to say, kind of like when you are uselessly flipping through the pages looking up a word in the dictionary because you already know the meaning but not the word you want, so you don’t know where to look.

I would love to stop here, but the memes and awards have been piling up and it really is time to clear the desk.

Expatraveler and Mr. Peace have nominated me for a writing award. A Lion’s Roar writing award for powerful words. An award named for the cry of an animal who sleeps all day, wakes up in the late afternoon, spends most of the evening prowling around preying on the youngest and oldest among the weak and defenceless, eating all he can before leaving the shredded scraps to the hyenas.

lions-roar.jpgOy vey! This is something to be proud of?

My good people, as much as I appreciate your recognition, can we call it the Hyena Award instead? I feel more comfortable as a hyena. The strongest jaws in nature, to match my mouth and the trouble it’s gotten me into. Happy to be who I am, if not king of beasts. Often heard laughing, mostly at myself.

hyena-south-africa.jpg

There, that’s better

Photo credit: our 2006 trip to South Africa

Az over at Casa az in Sevilla has given me a Champion Blogazine Editor award, which Archie started. To quote Archie, the award honours…

Those who create an online magazine full of interesting and differing articles. Some original work and some work found elsewhere and given a personal spin. Bloggers who give us, not just the minutia of their day but add other content to amuse and educate us. Who trawl the world of cyberspace to bring us the best available news and information.

blogazine-award.jpg

I appreciate this one very much, az. Here I was worried that all I do is throw against the wall whatever crosses my mind or field of view, and hope some of it will stick. The experts say that’s a no-no. Apparently, the rule is, you have to have a theme. Like, a blog about Stuff White People Like.

Believe it or not, another blogger gave me that Lion’s Roar award too, but I can’t find the link to it anymore. Was I de-awarded? Did the link die? If you’ve given me an award, tagged me with a meme, thought you liked this blog and told me so, and I failed to acknowledge it, I humbly beg your forgiveness. I may do it again, however. In true Canadian fashion: sorry.

© 2008 lettershometoyou


9 Responses to “Metaphorically speaking, memes are like, whatever”


  1. February 24, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I read this while drinking my morning coffee and started my day off laughing. Thanks :-)

  2. February 24, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Oh, my poor baby … so many awards, so little time. ;)

    I have to say that I personally hate the word ‘meme’ in the way it has been bastardized by the blogging community to mean ‘a quiz-like thing that goes around’.

    It was actually a term coined by Richard Dawkins to mean a unit of culturally transmitted information that we take in and then is passed on from person to person and becomes a part of our lives. Such as how we dress, forms of politeness, ways of doing things in our day-to-day lives that resonate with other, etc …

    I don’t think this term really fits when it comes to bloggers talking about 7 weird things about themselves and then passing it on.

    My blogging pal alejna once referred to these as “me-me’s” and I think that describes this blogging phenomenon much better as they tend to be quite self-centred, and especially as almost nobody has read Dawkins or even knows what a real meme is.

  3. February 24, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I liked the high-school writing in this post, probably because I haven’t developed my own writing past that stage. Rings true, makes me smile.

    Found your blog awhile ago – good stuff here.

  4. February 25, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Az – I listened to a CBC Ideas podcast a few weeks back with a one-hour lecture by Dawkins. I was enthralled. I confess to having read not one of his books though. Which would you first recommend?

    I hope this post didn’t come out as snooty… poor me, I’m drowning in awards. Gack! Not my intention.

    Hi SBW – thank you very much! A comment like yours is an award in itself.

    Hi brightfeather – I’m a morning reader too. Glad it brightened your day. :-)

  5. February 26, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Your metaphors get an A minus. Only beacuse Liberace’s palimony lawyer still maintains he’s not a poof.

    Well done. You’re the only taggee to have actually made up some metaphors. I will use your example to shame the others.

    Get to work earning your next award, Ian!

    Diplomatically,

    HB8

  6. February 27, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    This post cracked me up. I always feel weird when people give me blogging awards. What if I don’t want to pass them on to anyone? What if I don’t think anyone else is worthy? ;)

    Anyways, I’ve been reading for a while, and am baby free for the moment, so thought I’d leave a comment. I hope you don’t mind, but I also added you to my blogroll. Cheers!

  7. February 29, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Hi Headbang – he’s not a poof? Getouttatown…

    Hi Christina – I don’t mind at all! :-)
    Thanks for that.

  8. March 1, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Apparently the Selfish Gene is Dawkin’s main biggy, so maybe start with that one. I’ve had The Ancestor’s Tale on my bedside table for about a year … keeps putting me to sleep, though Nog slogged through it and said it was quite wonderful.

  9. April 14, 2008 at 11:30 am

    hiya tv,

    The meaning of meme in this context is the blog equivalent of a chain letter, passed from blogger to blogger as a way of establishing links and having a little fun in the process.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 519,918 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

