01
May
08

ipod mini discovery stuns archaeologists

This Definitely Not the Daily News special report is dedicated to Azahar of casa az fame, who is today celebrating the start of her third year of blogging and who a few weeks back in the midst of a tech consumption frenzy stopped to ask me, “What’s an iPod mini?”

by Elmer Schmedlapp
Seattle (DNTN) A team of archaeologists is attempting to decipher the contents of a recently discovered iPod mini to see if knowledge contained on the ancient device can give scientists insights into lost technologies and long-forgotten music listening practices.

The mini, which apparently fell behind the bookshelf of Walla Walla, Washington resident Wanda Woodsworth while Woodsworth was out walking one wet Wednesday in winter, 2005, had been given up for lost ever since.

Woodsworth recovered the long-dead Apple product last week while moving furniture.

“It had been so long, I didn’t recognise it for what it was at first” said Wordsworth, “so I phoned the university. They got really excited, told me not to touch it until experts could identify it, then evaluate its contents. “


The mini was a sleek, brushed-metal device which first appeard in January, 2004. It was suddenly pulled from the market 20 months later by iPod maker Apple because its relatively small 4 or 6GB size and miniature hard drive storage system was deemed “so last Thursday” by a bunch of 20-something shitheads sitting around a table at Silicon Valley focus group session.

“It was like, meh, whatever, get rid of it, you know?” said Charles “Chuck” Biscuits, a group member. “We thought, hey, like, you know. Yeah.”

Apple abandoned the mini barely six months after releasing a second-generation model amid cries of protest from Apple store salespeople, who this reporter can assure you once told him the mini was the best iPod ever produced.

“It was such a perfect design, easy to read display, great heft to it in the palm of your hand,” said Apple store owner Filbert McNutt. “Sure their battery life sucked, but if it died, you still had one great-looking paperweight. We were selling them so fast, we couldn’t stock ‘em, and then – Bang! Gone. I forget what they even looked like.”

One scientist at the university lab where the mini is being dissected said her team is excited at what they might find on the ancient personal audio player.

“The world has just so moved on since 2004,” said researcher Marla Baverstock. “To think that the ancients were actually willing to pay good money for iPods with monochrome displays, no video capability, and a spinning hard drive! How utterly desperate those times must have been.”

Cultural anthropologists are also looking forward to analysing the song selection stored on the mini’s drive. They say it’s an artefact which will give clues as to how the world might have been enjoying some down time while contemplating the horror of another four years of the George W. Bush administration.

“It was a unique time for music, pop culture, and world history in general,” said ET cultural and sexual deviations beat reporter Adda Dictomy.

“The number of people with a close-up view of Britney Spears’ and Paris Hilton’s crotch was still in the low four figures instead of the billions now thanks to the Internet, Anna Nicole Smith was still trying to convince everybody that her years of wiping the bum of a billionaire 70 years her senior was out of sheer love, SUV drivers were bitching about gas prices half the level they’re at now and people living in trailer parks and working at Burger King were being flim-flammed into half-million dollar mortgages so they could live in their dream home for a few months, then have it pulled out from under them.

Gosh, those were the days.”

© 2008 lettershometoyou


11 Responses to “ipod mini discovery stuns archaeologists”


  1. 1 Godfather
    May 1, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Very funny! Looking forward to reading more!

    Godfather (theslowbleed.com)

  2. May 2, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Oh, I’ve actually seen those in lime green – way cuter! Though it might have been a taller version. Hell, what do I know if it happened more than last week ago.

    Wow, must go preen a bit after having had a post dedicated to me … *preens*

  3. May 2, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    The blue is faded like an old pair of jeans, but it still works great. I had no choice on the colour, because I won it! It was something to do with work – I won a competition I had no idea I had entered, and that was the prize. So you can say I have yet to buy my first iPod. :-)

  4. May 3, 2008 at 2:40 am

    That’s the problem with technology, the moment you buy it it’s outdated already. I still have my two year old nano and my three year old laptop, although I did get it upgraded this week. I’m still on my non consume kick, except for wool of course…ciao

  5. May 3, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Rositta – I’m the type that likes to see how long things will last. We are still hanging on to our desktop for some minor stuff like banking and casual web surfing. It’s nine years old, runs on Windows 98. Our car is now a teenager, good for another 180-thousand km if we keep treating it right. :-)

  6. May 4, 2008 at 5:35 am

    That anthropologists would to take a gander at my 2003 mindv camcorder.

    I can’t believe it either, record video on a “magnetic tape”? Yeah, it’s crazy. It has like, moving parts, and the memory was totally susceptible to magnets and stuff. I mean, I think the world’s money was actually different way back then too. Cuz yeah, I know the five was for sure. crazy… ;-)

  7. May 4, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Ty – thanks for dropping by and commenting! Tape is history, but at least you’re recording digitally.. I still have a 10-year-old Hi-8 camcorder that takes excellent video – rich colours, clean sound. When I finally do get a digital camcorder, I’ll have skipped the miniDV generation altogether and gone straight to HD.

  8. May 5, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Someone actually stole my iPod mini in 2006, well after it was outdated. I actually miss it a little; it works way better than the 5th-generation full-size I got a few months later.

  9. May 8, 2008 at 11:47 am

    That’s a fun post – that ipod mini sounds better than the medion mp3 player I have today.

  10. May 8, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Indie – a friend of ours has an iRiver that is now on its third battery – it looks beat up from all the dismantling, but the thing still works great. Treat it well, yours will too I bet.

    earlgrey: Stolen? I hope the battery leaked into their pants.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 524,191 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

