12
Jul
08

Sometimes you just have to back up.

Especially when you have several tonnes of elephant headed your direction at seven in the morning.

Shot it in Kruger Park, South Africa in July, 2003 while out driving by myself looking for wildlife.

Update: now as YouTube video – WordPress video isn’t worth paying for, imho.


17 Responses to “Sometimes you just have to back up.”


  1. July 12, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Good morning to you!

    The vid is just fine. It plays smoothly, with good audio. And, it made me laugh – not only because of the situation itself, but because it was a perfect analogy for the way a situation was making me feel yesterday. (I was in the car, I wasn’t the elephant.)

    regards, Linda

  2. July 12, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Linda – thanks for letting me know! I hope others can see it…

  3. July 12, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Dude, not exactly Bertolucci but fine!

  4. July 12, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Ah, but every artist was once an amateur. :-)
    Glad it played for you.

  5. July 12, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Works fine for me and isnt it a big dog

  6. July 13, 2008 at 6:45 am

    it played fine – firefox on a mac.

  7. July 13, 2008 at 8:04 am

    “So a huge-ass elephant walks down a street…” No kidding?!

    The video runs great and it is a good start. Can’t wait for more.
    My system: FF3.0 on Ubuntu Hardy.

  8. July 13, 2008 at 9:54 am

    works fine though I did get the delay at the start that you mentioned

  9. 9 zangzor
    July 13, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Didn’t work at all here. Could be because I’m on pretty low bandwidth.

  10. July 13, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I played it on windows xp – dsl connection. Sometimes I have the problem in Youtube with the video stopping in the middle, if it plays faster than it downloaded. There it helps to wait a while until the video completes loading into cache.

  11. July 14, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    it played good for me. on first play it had one minor little jerk, probably due to still loading and me and the man being on the wireless at the same time. i played it again and it played smoothly all through.
    i love this big guy. the way he puts his feet down so carefully, like he is taking great care not to step on any beetles. that must have been an awesome experience!

  12. July 14, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Totally herky-jerky and bad audio the first time.

    Played smoothly with okay audio the second time.

    Firefox and windows xp.

  13. July 14, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Ah, thanks Az – and the rest who gave it a shot.

    Looks like when I post more I will have to put a little note to maybe try a second time if the first one doesn’t work. Now if only I had the time to keep working on the project…

  14. July 19, 2008 at 1:09 am

    In spite of the fact that you made this video in 2003 only so you could solicit comments in 2008, I fell for it and watched it. I’m on Firefox, and it’s nice and smooth. I’d love to see more! He seems like a very nice elephant. Cheers! :)

  15. July 19, 2008 at 10:45 am

    thanks, muse – it’s good to know that it plays well on most readers’ computers. I think I have firewall / connection problems here, and am considering a move to a new provider.

  16. 16 Tricia
    July 25, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Very smooth, very cool but no audio. The audio may be my computer problem.

  17. October 8, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Total browser freeze, forced me to crash out of Firefox. Windows 98, FF 3.0.3.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 523,997 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

