16
Dec
08

Canadian blog awards results

Careful readers of this blog will recall that this has happened before.

I make it into the finals, yet come in last. :-)

No matter! Back in 1977 the race was broadcast live on TV, the winner blew past everyone, set a record that stood for years, and went on to compete for Canada in the Olympics.

In this year’s Canadian Blog Awards the race was live on the Internet, the winner of Best Personal Blog blew by everyone, and if her latest post is anything to go by, who knows where she might end up?

Knitnut gets some shots of some Ottawa cops after they’ve roughed up a woman on a downtown street. She refuses to give in to their intimidation, keeps the photos and publishes them. I hope that post – and her blog – get the attention they deserve.

Knitnut actually won two categories. Best local blog as well.

As they noted on the page announcing the winners, the personal blog category was especially competitive. Based on the number of votes cast, even the fourth-place finisher would have won had that blog been slotted in other categories.

Thanks to all who voted for this blog, and once again to Indeterminacy for the nomination.

Second place went to No Ordinary Rollercoaster, Meg Fowler third, The Peach Pit fourth, and Under the Mad Hat fifth. By careful process of elimination, that puts me in sixth.

A total of 57 blogs were nominated, many of which I think should have made it to the finals. Check out these, for example:

Matthew Good

It’s like I’m mmmagic!

Rigo’s Days


15 Responses to “Canadian blog awards results”


  1. December 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Oh, well. You’ve still got your health.

    • December 16, 2008 at 3:30 pm

      @headbang:
      …If not my youth. :-)

      @adam
      It took them nearly 10 days to announce the winners, so a recount could take a while. You have to remember it’s the middle of winter, and so connections might be slow.

  2. December 16, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    You was robbed.

    Demand a recount.

  3. December 16, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Awww, I guess we just didn’t vote hard enough. Well done anyway and better luck next time.

  4. December 16, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I voted for ya, man! It’s fab to make it into the finals, really! I appreciate the links to the other winners, too. Some interesting reading there.

  5. December 17, 2008 at 1:28 am

    You got it, Muse. There are a lot of good ones in that list.

  6. December 17, 2008 at 10:46 am

    To be honest, I think your blog transcends the categories of the contest – it is a combination of personal and current events, with your insights on relevant matters the binding force. It seems to me they closed the final round rather quickly, before everyone had a chance to vote.

    I never do well in these contests either, whenever I was in. It doesn’t mean much in the end anyhow. You built up quite a following from scratch – and that is something to be proud of. Having an award won’t help increase traffic much. No matter how you turn it, in the end it is really all about content.

  7. December 17, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Thanks, Fred! :-)
    You’re right – it is all about content. That’s why I’m going to start a blog that has nothing but cat pictures and mangled English. Think it’ll fly? ;-)

  8. December 17, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Seriously though, I’ve run across this category thing before. If you submit your blog to catalog sites like alltop, for example, they ask you to slot it into a certain category. I can’t put humor, or politics, or family, or personal, or travel, or expat, because to do so would put it into a channel it doesn’t belong in. I like to write about everything, because to focus on one would be way too boring.

  9. December 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    How about mangled cat pictures and good english?

    (I know this will get me killed, but I loved the 101 ways to kill a cat books/calanders)

  10. December 17, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I’d have to stick a disclaimer on the top of each one saying no animals were harmed in the production of this post.
    Can’t help it! I’m a cat-lover.

  11. December 17, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Huh? My comment go bye-bye? Awwwww.

    Now I regret voting for ya, ya big lug.

  12. December 19, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Hi Ian and Ian’s readers. I feel the same way about categories. My very first website, back in the mid-90s, was called The Eclectic Sprawl, which left the door wide open. The next one was called knitnut.net, and out of 800 posts, only 20 ended up being about knitting. (My hat goes off to the Yarn Harlot who can write about knitting every single day and keep it interesting. I tried. Couldn’t do it.)

    The CBAs bring increased exposure and new readers, so ultimately we all win, even if we don’t end up with a beaver in our sidebar. (I know this because last year I came in 4th in the Best Activities category, and I grieved for the lost beaver.) Anyway, keep up the good work over here.

  13. December 28, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Keep your friends close, and your beaver closer.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 522,519 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

