04
Jan
09

La Gomera public webcam birthday greeting

I’m sure a public webcam birthday greeting has been done before, but we thought it was a lot of fun anyway:

webcam-gomera-canary-islands-birthday-greeting

That tiny couple you see waving at lower-right are old friends of K. Over the Christmas break they ditched our winter cold on the barren flatlands for two weeks of golden afternoons on La Gomera in the Canary Islands.

At a get-together a few weeks back, they took me aside and told me their plan: starting at 1700 German time on K’s birthday, they’d be frantically waving in front of this webcam.

So as nonchalantly as I could on the big day – already full of best wishes of the normal kind from friends and family – I called K over to the laptop, clicked on the link and… voilĂ !

There they were.

Nice touch, T&T! You really made her day. :-)


3 Responses to “La Gomera public webcam birthday greeting”


  1. January 5, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    That is so cool! And it does look very warm… I’ve always wanted to waive and have the proof of the photo!

  2. January 5, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    By the way, I should have said happy birthday!!! The lions? No it was too snowy really to even go anywhere. We stayed put. Victoria, near Beacon Hill Park – Yes you have the correct location…. I took that pic a few wks back.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 523,938 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

