13
Aug
09

Back from British Columbia

But still heavily jet-lagged.   A couple of photos from my hometown are about all I can muster right now.

canada bc howe sound anvil island defence islands trees

Now taking bets as to when this old shed finally gives in:

canada bc howe sound britannia beach crumbling dock

And one from around Kamloops, where my mother went to school during the war:

canada bc kamloops sun peaks hazy view


16 Responses to “Back from British Columbia”


  1. August 13, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Ahhh, welcome home and thanks for the great pictures. I’m sure you have a whole lot of vacation stories up your sleeve.

  2. 3 Sherry & Dale
    August 13, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    So glad to hear you all made it home safely. I can just imagine how exhausted everyone is! It was wonderful to visit again after so many years….we hope we get to do it again some day. Next time though we promise not to put you through such a vigorous “screening” process!!!! LOL! We’ll make sure we have “real” wine glasses too!
    The little red haired girl & your better half were real charmers…loved them both. Until we meet again…I will be practicing up on my thumb wrestling….gonna beat that little chitlin’ at it one day!!! :)
    Looking forward to seeing more pictures & reading about the rest of your trip. The Sunpeaks shot is a beauty!
    Hasta la vista!!!!

  3. August 13, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Lovely, all! The shed one, in particular deserves to be entered in a show or contest. I remember Kamloops! I was there once.

  4. August 14, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    May I just say… Wow!

    • August 15, 2009 at 10:43 am

      The top photo you will recognise as a variation of the blog banner, shot two years ago from the same spot. It’s a hike to get to, but very much worth it. We used to go up there as kids all the time.

      The shed… a whole bunch of stories all tied into that place.

  5. 8 Khaled
    August 15, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Truly awesome pictures. I can almost feel your connection to the area.

    Welcome back… :o)

  6. August 15, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Looks like Norway, except for the shed! Hope you get over the jet lag soon (I am crap with time travel too!)

  7. August 16, 2009 at 12:17 am

    I must say that you are a good photographer. I like the middle picture

  8. August 17, 2009 at 7:42 am

    What’s going on here? Your home town is a lake?? It’s very lovely though. Welcome back!

  9. 13 Vorpal
    August 18, 2009 at 6:03 am

    The shed strikes a cord, doesn’t it?
    There was once a dock on top of all of those pilings. At the far end was a set of ramps built out of mine timbers. I drove my ’64 Pontiac up them one night to change the oil. No biggie. No stops, either. If you overshot you’d be in the chuck. In later years the shed was home to the Vindicators car club. Vindicators ‘cuz they had a reputation for roaring up and down the highway, so they formed this cool club, with cool jackets and all, and got the company to let ‘em use the shed. I never joined, though. Hung around a lot. They were good guys in general, especially since when I was with the bunch of them I could get into the bar. Once sat on the edge of that dock and chugged a hot beer (Heidleberg to be precise) on a bet. It had been sitting in the sun all day. When I hurled, I’m dead certain I hit Woodfibre

    In earlier years, it was the freight shed — no road or railway in those days. I can remember picking up our bunk beds and my Dad hauling up the hill on top of an Austin A40

    When the shed finally goes, I bet I’m gonna cry. But in a manly, Vindicators kind of way.

    Cheers,
    –Vorpal

  10. 14 Vorpal
    August 18, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I think that the Hood Canal and Puget Sound both could arguably be called fjords, but I wouldn’t argue that :)

  11. August 23, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Wow! How did you drag yourself away from that breath-taking beauty. And the little red-haired girl will soon need a new moniker, nearly as tall as you now!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 520,546 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

