11
Dec
09

A chance to play hockey: this time, I hope to not break my nose

I’m bubbling in my skin, jumpy with excitement and anticipation at what I’m doing this coming Tuesday morning.

For the first time in ages – 32 years actually – I’m going to play hockey!  On ice!  With a real puck, helmet and even a stick!   Yaaaahooo!  I’ve been looking around for a chance to play hockey for ages.

Hanging out on the same forum where I stumbled upon a chance to play fake American pizza baker, I found a query about where to play ice hockey in Hamburg.  A couple of messages and phone calls later, I’m set up to go Tuesday morning at 8.

Good thing I’ve learned to skate since the last time.

Back then, a friend coaxed me into joining him at a weekly game.

“C’mon man,” he said. “You can ski like a pro, and anyone who can ski like you do can skate.”

So we jumped into a van to a rink 50km away, where I borrowed skates, pads, helmet and stick, skated onto the ice, and within five seconds slammed flat on the ice.

I got up, tried to balance – blood splotching the ice – flopped onto the boards, and struggled to the bench.

A guy looked over at me and says: Hey buddy, yer nose is bleed’n’ sump’n’ broodle.

Turns out I actually broke it, but didn’t realise it until eight years later at a routine medical exam.


10 Responses to “A chance to play hockey: this time, I hope to not break my nose”


  1. December 11, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    How delightfully Canadian of you! Post pics, we gotta see what you look like in the gear and such! ;-)

  2. December 11, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Sounds like fun–I hope you get lots of photographs.

  3. December 11, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    You’ll be helmeted, and beskated. But will you be pucked?

    • December 12, 2009 at 8:26 am

      I may be a puckhead, but not pucked in the head! :-)

      As for photos, would love to, but the camera is going to have to stay in the bag for the first time I meet these guys and until I decide whether to make it a regular thing. For now, it’s try it out and see. If I can make it fit into my work schedule, I’ll pick up some gear and go twice, maybe even three times a week.

  4. December 12, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    “bleed’n’ sump’n’ broodle”

    never heard that expression before…..

  5. December 12, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Canajun ~ too funny.

    Here in south Texas, we only hear about hockey when a really big fight breaks out. Are you going to have to fight?

  6. December 12, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Have fun and don’t break anything!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 514,902 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

