19
Dec
09

First slide of winter, 2009

I love taking advantage of little bits of time, especially during this hectic pre-Christmas whirl.

Saturday morning in the fresh snow and cold the little red-haired girl and I headed with the wooden sled to the Elbe riverbank near where we used to live when we first came to Hamburg.

We were only out there for an hour or so, but every time we do a childhood tradition like this I savour it, thinking: this might be the last.  She’s growing up so fast, how much longer will she feel like going out with her old man for a bit of fun in the snow?

Translation of the end:

How you supposed to steer?

You gotta lean!

But I did!

Oh…

Ah…


11 Responses to “First slide of winter, 2009”


  1. December 19, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    And you held a camera while sledding!

  2. December 19, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Ha ha! That’s great! We don’t have that much snow, but if it keeps up, Mr. M and the boys will probably go over to the hill in the next town and have some fun. When I was a kid we had a very long, steep curved driveway so our house was official sledding headquarters all winter.

    • December 20, 2009 at 10:04 am

      The camera was just for a couple of runs, of course – not every time! :-)

      It’s snowing again this morning, so maybe even if the weather warms up a bit like it’s supposed to, we’ll still have some around at Christmas. Seeing the snow billowing off rooftops in the wind and having to adapt so much to the cold reminds me of Quebec a lot, where it would be at least -10 for weeks on end.

  3. December 20, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Pure fun, for sure. I still have my Dixie Flyer. I drag it out every Christmas for decorating – I finally let the ice skates go, but I just can’t get rid of that sled.

  4. December 21, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Ian,

    Hey, how ya lovin’ that “global warming”?

    Ouch! That’s gotta hurt!

    Those people in Europe who died from those arctic blasts would probably disagree with you about this issue — if they hadn’t frozen to death, that is.

    *

  5. December 21, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Is your daughter bilingual or does she prefer to speak in German?

    • December 21, 2009 at 10:41 pm

      She’s bilingual, but prefers to speak in German. At times she surprises me with the treat of a sentence or two in English, but mostly we talk just like you hear it: she in German, me in English.

  6. December 22, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Ian,

    And ten years from now, I suppose, when a decade of collected weather statistics show the same variability that we’ve always seen, you will STILL be telling me that I’m confusing weather and climate?

    Riiiiiiiiiight.

    God is dead and so is global warming.

    If you really need something to believe in, why not try Gore’s alternate scare-mongering myth, ManBearPig?

    *

    • December 22, 2009 at 1:45 pm

      I haven’t a clue what I will say 10 minutes from now, nor is it up to you to predict, but your arrogation of responsibility for supplying my reply 10 years from now comes as no surprise. I hope you enjoy the view with your head in the sand. I can’t say it’s any prettier up here watching the world continue on its path of self-destruction cutting down what’s left of the forests, over-fishing, poisoning the seas, and on and on. Just because a bunch of climate sceptics have politicised the debate doesn’t make the harm we’re doing any less real, nor the need to do something about it any less urgent.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 517,978 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

