21
Dec
09

wordpress.com front page fun

Go on, admit it.  If you’re a sluggo blogger like me trundling along with a few hundred hits a day, it’s fun to see your stats suddenly rocket skyward, if only for a little while.

The new front page at wordpress.com featured a photo from and link to a recent post about breaking my skates while playing hockey, and the view count went a bit nuts.

It lasted about 24 hours and brought in about three times as many visits this humble spot usually gets over a single day.  A few of the newcomers even left comments, which are always welcome.

What’s weird is, I’m not sure why the editors at WordPress.com picked that particular post.  Was it just dumb luck?  Nothing else better out there? Because I can point to dozens of others I’ve churned out over the last couple of years which are more deserving.   Better writing, punchier photos, more interesting content…to me, at least. :-)   But they never made it to the front page.

I’m not complaining!  But if anyone at wordpress.com is reading this, can you let me know how you choose posts for your front page?  Does anyone else have a clue?


9 Responses to “wordpress.com front page fun”


  1. December 21, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Geez, I’d be happy with “a few hundred hits a day”. Har!

  2. December 21, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    How fan-dable-dosi!

    Or however you spell that odd English saying…

    It’s always strange what catches other people’s eye–sometimes its the most innocuous things that captures people’s imaginations.

  3. December 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    A few hundred hits a day? Is that trundling along? I WISH for a few hundred a day! Most of my hits come from people googling the words “dirndl” and “boobs”. What’s your secret, Ian, apart from, like, fine writing and superb pictures?

    • December 21, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      Headbang, stop it, you’re making me blush!

      I mean by trundling along that it’s all relative, eh? I mean, if 25 or 500 a day come to your site it’s still piddling in comparison to the Huffington Posts of the world, wouldn’t you say?

      The first clue things were going crazy came from the dashboard. All of a sudden the stats showed there were more than 100 hits coming in from wordpress.com, when usually it’s one or two via tag searches.

  4. December 21, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    How did you know your post was featured on the front page?

    I had a spike awhile ago … never think to check these things.

    Anyhow, well done, and keep up the good work!

  5. December 21, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    The stats are mostly a mystery to me, though sometimes hilarious. I’d never guess which posts are the ones that end up with the most hits, even the ones that aren’t due to a tangential word search.

  6. December 22, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I’ve hit the front page twice. The first was one of my earliest posts, called The Death of Freecell – all about how I’d, like, discovered this blogging stuff could eat up some time and I wasn’t playing my favorite solitaire any more. The second was about Cuban blogger Yoani Sanchez.

    I don’t have a clue how they’re selected. I honestly think it’s whatever catches the eye of the person who’s sitting there in front of the monitor. It was hilarious when the Freecell post was selected – my average daily count back then was about 25 on a REALLY good day. It whizzed up to 300 or whatever and I thought my computer was broken ;-)

  7. 8 Irene Sharon Hodes
    December 22, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    My blog was featured today/yesterday on the WordPress.com front page. I’ve blogged for a while, anonymously, and I just started this new blog a few weeks ago to help promote my writing. It was incredible. I’m not sure how I’ll go back to a small handful of viewers after having more than 1300 in one day. My question is this – was there any lasting positive influence? Did your repeat traffic go up any from the exposure? Is there any way of capitalizing on it, other than being a damned awesome blogger that people are just drawn to?

    Anyway – I am puzzled too over why they chose what they chose – a quickly written post about coconut milk. I got a ridiculous amount of comments — people love the stuff.

    AND the editors did send me an email notifying me that I was chosen for the front page. Maybe you missed it in your spam filter or something.

    • December 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

      Hi Irene,
      You’re right – I did miss it! Their mail – a short note that it was on the front page and a keep-up-the-good work – went straight to spam. Maybe I should just ask them?

      As for any lasting impression, I think it’s pretty hard to get new readers. Someone might be intrigued by what they see and stay around for a longer look, and if so, that’s always good.

      And if you come back… do you have a URL I could stick in so readers could go over to your blog?


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 516,385 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

