25
Jan
10

It takes a village to take care of an old lady

Small-town Canada is changing, but the old spirit of helping each other out lives on.   Living as we do half-way across the world, that’s at least some comfort when things go wrong and we can’t be there.

As she told me on the phone last night, my mother was walking on the main street of the town she lives in half-way between Vancouver and Whistler four days ago when she misjudged the curb, fell forward, smashed her head on the ground, broke her glasses, and ended up with a black eye and scrapes on her arms and knees.

Two men who were there came over right away and got me on my feet again, she tells me. I haven’t been picked up by a man in years!

That’s because you don’t hang around in the local bars, I tell her.

Yeah, I know, she says, and laughs a bit.

Then she adds:

I was on the way to the post office to mail that package for (the little red-haired girl’s) birthday when it happened.  One of the guys stayed with me and the other went back to his truck for a first aid kit and they bandaged me up.  Oh, and two ladies who saw it all from the insurance company office on the corner came out and were quite upset.  They stayed and made sure I was all right, though.  They helped me get to the post office, and then one of them drove my car home for me.

They even drove you home?

Sure, they were really worried about me, because with the broken glasses I couldn’t get back into the car and drive anymore.


10 Responses to “It takes a village to take care of an old lady”


  1. January 25, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Aww. *snif*

    I’m a blubbering mess from all the sweet small town stories this morning. Your post comes right on the heels of watching this video from home (the town involved is a few miles south of my Dad’s house).

    http://www.whotv.com/videobeta/watch/?watch=007c8986-792f-4139-8aa0-c32ff5eaa326

  2. January 25, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Glad to hear things like this still happen.

    What will the Berlin (German?)athletes do in Canada for the Olympics when everyone around them is helpful and nice? :)

  3. January 25, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I don’t know, Yelli …. but I hope they have better balance than my mother! She’s 87 this year, so gotta give her a break.

  4. 4 writechic
    January 26, 2010 at 12:12 am

    :-D Decent people don’t get a lot of press. Glad your giving ‘em some. This made me smile so big. You have to be grateful so many people reached out to your mom.

    • January 26, 2010 at 7:52 am

      In the local paper they’ve got a little back-page section called Darts and Daffodils where people can send in their gripes and thank-yous either anonymously or with names. She said she would make sure to get them a daffodil mention. :-)

  5. January 26, 2010 at 4:03 am

    What a wonderful story. I’m so glad for your mom that she wasn’t more badly hurt, and that she had caring people around her. My own mom is nearly 92 and a little rocky herself. I know the flutters of anxiety that can arise when these things happen.

    Mom did have a parallel experience once. She was living in a small town east of Kansas City and still driving. She has no sense of direction anyway, and was trying to get home in a driving rainstorm. She got lost, panicked, and finally ended up at a guard shack at a warehouse. As it turned out, she was in the middle of the KC Missouri red light district, and the guard was completely undone by the elderly lady who’d just presented herself. He called my uncle, who came with a cousin to get mom and her car back home.

    Thank goodness for “village values” even in the big city.

  6. January 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    What a lovely story … made me smile.

  7. January 27, 2010 at 3:33 am

    I’m so glad they were there to help her.

  8. January 27, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Sounds pretty bad but very good to hear that your mom was treated so well. Those kind helpers definitely deserve a daffodil mention.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 514,832 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

