26
Jan
10

Hamburg rarity: Off to go skating on the Alster

This morning I’m as excited as the little kids I saw yesterday afternoon jumping up and down before they opened up the ice at Planten und Blomen, Hamburg’s huge outdoor skating rink.

That’s where I finally picked up a new pair of skates to replace the ones that broke before Christmas.

Today, I’m going to give them a good breaking in.

I’ve been living here nearly 13 years and never once set foot on the Alster, the huge lake in the centre of Hamburg.  Sitting like a fat, crooked thumb sectioned at the nail by the Kennedy Bridge, the Alster is a focal point for Hamburg life winter and summer.  Been sailing and canoeing on it, rowed in an 8-man racing shell, rollerbladed around it and had a few picnics on its grassy banks, but not once in all the time I’ve lived here has it been cold enough to get out there and scrape a few turns.

Today’s the day!

Out yesterday on the bike  – first to take a ferry ride through the ice pans clogging the Elbe – I swung by the Alster and was astounded to see two skaters in the foreground, a few others in the distance.

Can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait!

It’s minus 15, the day is breaking clear and blue and I’ve got the whole day off. :-)


6 Responses to “Hamburg rarity: Off to go skating on the Alster”


  1. 1 John W
    January 26, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    A lovely photo and my thoughts exactly on skating. I love being on an outdoor rink and as you have so aptly described, I thought my skills were better, but what fun. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. It is like finding a kindred spirit! All the best!!

  2. January 26, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Oh that is really cool! Enjoy :)

  3. January 26, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Sounds like fun – glad you’ve got your new skates!

    • January 26, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      When I got there about 9:30 there were about a dozen others spread out over what I could see of the lake. By the time I left about 5 hours later, there might have been 2,000!

      I’d like to show you the photos, but right now: way too pooped to post. :-)

  4. January 27, 2010 at 3:12 am

    New skates, hurray! Have fun!

  5. January 27, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Sounds perfect. My skating is atrocious but I still enjoy it. Look forward to seeing more pics.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 520,627 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

