28
Jan
10

Plea for video editing software tips

As much as I like our new Sony VAIO laptop, Sony’s PMB video editing software is driving me crazy.

All I want to do is put three simple digital video scenes together to make a short 45-second movie in MPEG-2 format to upload to YouRube to show brother Gordon all the ice clogging the Elbe.  I mentioned it to him on the blower the other night and told him I’d post it.

After two hours of trying to decipher Sony’s cryptic instructions IN GERMAN and scouring various audio-visual forums, I’ve given up.  Out of time, I am left with posting just one short clip because I can’t figure out how to jam them all together to one file.

Oh wait, yes, I figured that out, but it saves the individual .mpg files to some useless Sony-only format that Youtube doesn’t recognise.  And trying to convert that file back to .mpg didn’t work.

I rarely go cap in hand to readers, but  I ask you now: Do you know of any simple video editing software that is easy to use and readily downloadable?   Links to good sites where I might do some more research?  Thanks very much. And in the meantime, here’s that clip.  It was taken from a ferry two days ago.

We plan to be completely cut off from the rest of the world over the next four days, so if I you do have a tip and I don’t respond right away, that’s why.


8 Responses to “Plea for video editing software tips”


  1. 2 thebeadden
    January 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Hi, Ian. I use Pinnacle Studio 12. It was cheap, easy to use and I am quite happy with it. If you are just looking for a simple program to do your own small video’s, you can’t go wrong with this one.

    If I can use this product, anyone can.

    Here is the link:

    http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSite/us/Home/

  2. 3 thebeadden
    January 28, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    I forgot to ask if you run on windows. It usually comes with “Movie Maker” It’s not a bad program.

  3. January 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Hello there, and cheers from Poland ;)

  4. 5 Khaled
    January 31, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Hey there Ian,

    … and a happy new year to you too :o)

    I recently used Windows Movie Maker which I downloaded at the following link:

    http://download.live.com/moviemaker

    It is easy to use but very bare so too much editing is not possible.

    BTW, try typing “video editing software” into Wikipedia. There is a comprehensive table listing all the available programs that are both free to download and professional.

    I saw your Alster post. What camera do you use? I really like the pix you take.

    Take care :o)

  5. January 31, 2010 at 5:38 am

    I don’t know anything about videos and editing, but I must say I liked your clip of the floes of river ice. One video led to another – it’s just such a different world, that ice.

    • February 1, 2010 at 6:22 am

      Thanks to all who passed along their suggestions. :-)
      I will try out a couple of them over the next few days and post the results. More snow, more ice. :-)
      We really were cut off from rest of the world, but alas, the plows did too good a job and now it’s back to work.

  6. 8 just another dumb spammer
    March 29, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    Hi! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my handheld. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 519,933 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

