17
Feb
10

Terry Fox, Michael J Fox, what’s the difference?

Canadians always shake their heads when reminded of how little Americans know about their neighbour to the north.

Thanks to Regret the Error for posting this Olympic-scale NBC research blunder:

Any Canadian above the age of six would have spotted the problem long before it was broadcast.

Ah well.  You see screw-ups in the media all the time.

Entire networks, for example, mistake Sarah Palin for someone worth putting on air.


15 Responses to “Terry Fox, Michael J Fox, what’s the difference?”


  1. February 17, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Nobody ever accused NBC’s Olympics coverage of being accurate, unbiased, or timely.

  2. February 17, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Shaking their heads in solidarity?

    I’ll get me coat…

  3. February 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Actually I saw him on Boston Legal and he was hardly twitchy at all.

    • February 17, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      I had to look that up, of course. Maybe that’s where they got confused… MJF was in four episodes as a cancer patient fighting to get the real drugs instead of a placebo. Did I miss much of the last 20 years of North American pop culture?

  4. February 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Unlike with NBC, apparently CTV actually has a FORMULA for their Olympic coverage.

    http://markarayner.com/blog/archives/3043

    • February 17, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      That’s funny, Az, but I think every country does the same. In Germany the coverage focuses on the Germans, they root for them, they express disappointment when they don’t win, etc.

      Cliff – I remember that film! It showed a lot of the frustrations they faced – being completely ignored in Quebec, for instance.

  5. February 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I heard her refer to him as “Michael Fox,” not “Michael J. Fox.” Or did I miss something? Either way, yeah, bummer, but had she said the “J.” it would have been worse.

    And just in case — yeah I know who Terry Fox was and I faintly remember a TV-movie about his run across Canada. I remember it mostly because it’s the first instance I can recall of hearing “dammit” or maybe “god dammit” in a show my parents ASKED me to watch with them.

  6. February 23, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Meredith Vieria is an embarrassing idiot.

  7. February 28, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I’m not american or Canadian and it’s glaringly obvious to me too

  8. March 2, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    But they actually showed the picture of Michael J. Fox (face)!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 522,349 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

