02
Sep
10

A Hamburg weekend

If you’re going to be meeting me and a few other bloggers in Hamburg the weekend of Sept 10 – 12, this post is for you.   These photos will illustrate some of the details I’ll be posting on our little forum site.

For the Friday side trip with Umlauts, go to the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof and look for this view:

If you’re standing right here, turn around and you’ll see a huge Burger King sign.   We’ll meet there!

Do resist the urge to indulge as you wait for others to arrive, as we’ll be having lunch in Umlautsville.

Personal anecdote: the first time I was at the Hamburg central station, my wife-to-be and I almost tripped over some junkies shooting up in a corner just outside.  The place has been cleaned up a bit since then.

Skipping to Saturday afternoon, I’ll be posting a raft of nautical options to enjoy after lunch.  Beside, on, or under the Elbe – your choice.

Bonus flashback look at winter on the Elbe, as seen from the upper deck of one of these ferries:

OH!  That reminds me.  A blogger in Alabama kayaking (!) through the Panama Canal a while back thought of me when she saw that very ship – or one in its fleet – sailing through that busy ditch.  Here’s what she posted on her blog:

Double-secret-special-bonus photo of the bar That Queer Expatriate and I were forbidden to enter, probably because we weren’t dressed for it:

I guarantee you the best view of the entire harbour through those huge, tall windows at the top, but if you go, make sure you’re clothed in a little better attire than just jeans and t-shirt.  If not, walk straight in like you own the place and head for the windows just to get a glimpse before they throw you out.  It’s worth it.

And finally, the Sunday breakfast/brunch thing:  We’ll catch a boat on the Alster to get to the restaurant. This way you’ll have covered Hamburg’s two great natural attractions – the Elbe and the Alster.  We’ll meet at the foot of the big wooden quay on the southeast corner of the Binnenalster.  The end of the quay looks like this:

Please remember to wave to man standing guard as you float by:


25 Responses to “A Hamburg weekend”


  1. September 2, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Can’t wait to see these in person! Thanks in advance for your hard work…

  2. September 2, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I’m with Yelli.. on all points.
    See you all soon!!!

  3. September 3, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I wish I could be in Hamburg at this time to join in the meet-up! I can imagine it’s a very nice way to see the Hamburg-area! Have a wonderful time :-)

  4. 4 Jen
    September 3, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Um. I’m glad this little meet-up is in the summer. :-) Looking forward to meeting everyone!

    • September 3, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      Me too, Jen, though this past week has been so cold, it’s the earliest we’ve ever considered putting the heat on.

      @Touch of Dutch… you’re welcome to cross the border and join us, and you don’t need a passport!

      Snooker and Yelli, thanks – and see you next week. :-)

  5. September 4, 2010 at 3:23 am

    Hey Ian! Vox is closing shop and has kicked everyone to the curb. I’ve exported my Brownamazon blog here, hope to see you around!

  6. September 4, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I’m really rather shocked, Ian. Going for a burger in Hamburg? Surely it’s been done!

  7. September 4, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    wish I were going to be there too

  8. September 5, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I wish I could come! I’m sure you’d be an excellent host, Ian. :-)

  9. September 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I wish I were able to join you… I wanted to last year as well, but life conspires against me every time. Pah!

  10. September 8, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Sounds like fun … hey, maybe you’ll be able to make it to the Sevilla meet? No date set yet, probably end of October.

  11. September 8, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Speaking of beer, do you have any drinkable beer up there? My Munich locals are suggesting you do not.

    • September 8, 2010 at 11:35 am

      I agree, Jul. I don’t know which is worse, Jever or Astra – both brewed in or around Hamburg. They do allow Paulaner in, so you’re safe.

      @azahar – you’ll have to let us know about that.

      @cartooncat – we’re closer to you than the meetup was last year!

  12. September 11, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I know… I know…

    I just hope you’re all having a great time and that Hamburg was pre-warned… lol

  13. September 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Weird… it didn’t make the front page of Bild. Not that I read Bild, you understand *cough*

  14. 24 C
    September 27, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Sorry to have missed the meet-up — and thanks for picking up my slack on the umlaut sidetrip. Glad to hear Hamburg’s cleaned up its act. My first memory of the city, too, was of a junkie shooting up on the subway steps (in 99). Now it seems they’ve all moved to Cologne.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 524,060 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

