08
Sep
10

You say you want to burn the Koran

You say you want to burn the Koran
Well, you know
We all think that you’re insane
You tell me it’s expressing freedom
Well, you know
You’re free to suck a sewer main
You light up a fire and say that it’s your due
But we’d love to piss on your Koran bar-be-cue.

You say Islam’s a harsh religion
Yeah well, you know
Your cross is evil just the same
Your Sunday morning plate donation
Well, you know
It pays to anger and inflame
And if you want money for churches that only hate
I’ve got a dead goat that baby you can fel-late

Your stunt’s a media sensation
Oh yeah, you know
We’ll see it all on CNN
You say it’s in your Constitution
There you go,
Abusing freedom once again
But if you go burning up verses of Mo-ham-med
Don’t cry to us if they torch your place instead

Sung to the tune of:


17 Responses to “You say you want to burn the Koran”


  1. September 8, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Bravo, Ian! Thanks for writing that.

  2. 2 Khaled
    September 8, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Love it :o)

  3. September 8, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I admire you — I wish I could be this creative.

  4. September 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Writechic’s video comment to you takes the words right out of my mouth! I’ve been flabbergasted [and I mean in a bad way] by this news story since it first popped up. I don’t typically go into it about my political thoughts and all, but in this case you hit the nail on the head & practically took the words right out of my mouth! :-)

  5. September 9, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Now I’ll have that song playing in my head all night

  6. September 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Madness, the idea of burning Korans, not your post, which was madness of another sort, thoroughly enjoyed.

  7. September 9, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I think Jones has seen the publicity that Fred Phelps for being a moron and decided he wants a piece of the action.

    • September 10, 2010 at 7:04 am

      Nobody in American ever stayed unknown or poor for very long after plunging the depths of attention whoredom.

      Anthony, I had to remove that video. I appreciate your contribution, but nsfw is nsfw.

  8. September 10, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Agreed. It’s also sadly inevitable that we’ll be hearing a lot more from Pastor Jones in the future.

    No worries on removing the video. Your blog, your rules.

  9. September 11, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Great stuff! Love it Ian!

  10. September 16, 2010 at 6:28 am

    It took exactly one line of your parody for the tune to start playing in my head. Amazing, how some things get embedded forever.

    Very interesting, that bit about the idiot preacher having a bit of a history in Germany. Never heard a word about that over here despite all the “in-depth” reporting. On the other hand, I tuned out fairly early, so I could have missed it.

  11. September 16, 2010 at 7:02 am

    His own daughter says he needs psychiatric help, but those types are usually the last people who would seek it out.

  12. September 9, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Thanks, guys!

    Did you hear of the Germany angle on this story? He was kicked out of a church in Cologne only last year.
    From Der Spiegel online in English:

    What is less well known is that the pastor led a charismatic evangelical church, the Christian Community of Cologne, in the western German city up until 2009. Last year, however, the members of the congregation kicked founder Jones out, because of his radicalism. One of the church’s current leaders, Stephan Baar, also told the German news agency DPA that there had been suspicions of financial irregularities in the church surrounding Jones.


    Linkage:

    http://www.spiegel.de/international/world/0,1518,716409,00.html

    Financial irregularities? Why am I not surprised?


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 589 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 516,862 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

