30
Jan
11

Saturday sunburn at st. peter-ording

Sunburn in winter.  How long has it been?  It had to have been the sun that reddened our faces, because there was absolutely no wind on the vast, empty beach at St. Peter-Ording, the roiling North Sea calmed to the level stillness of a morning lake.  A few strollers, a couple of disappointed kite-surfers, nothing much more.    A year ago today we were stepping over three-foot snowdrifts on the Baltic after a 24-hour blizzard cut us off from the rest of Germany for a while.  What a difference.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


8 Responses to “Saturday sunburn at st. peter-ording”


  1. January 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Beautiful photographs, Ian. I’ve seen snow on beaches only once, during our famous Christmas snow a few years ago. It seems such an improbable combination, but as your photos prove, it has some very real charms.

  2. February 2, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    love the slide show Ian

  3. February 17, 2011 at 8:02 am

    This is so wonderful that you have slide-show capacity now! I watched the stunning photos go by; it was like a meditation and holiday combined. You do capture the most important things of any place that you are. Just beautiful :) Sunburn? Who would have thought?

  4. February 17, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I’d really like to thank you for dropping in your comment, MusE. You know, I don’t blog much anymore. It’s kind of like – what else is there to say, you know? Life goes on, people are tweeting and blogging and facebooking and I just think… for what? It’s not as if my drop in the bucket is going to make any difference whatsoever. But every time I think of what I’m going to say as my Last Post – something comes along that I just want to put out there one more time. This was one of them. I took 55 shots over those three days that weekend. As I told the little red-haired girl: learn the art of leaving things out.

  5. February 19, 2011 at 5:02 am

    Shoot, Ian. Quality wins out over quantity every time. Here’s a rough equivalency: one of Ian’s posts = 100,000 of anyone’s tweets. Just sayin’
    :-)


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 518,297 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

