27
Apr
11

Canucks beat Blackhawks, Hamburg balcony explodes

OK, I just whooped for joy and woke up my two ladies, but really… who wouldn’t?

The Vancouver Canucks, the NHL hockey team I’ve been following for so long, no player on the ice was even born when I went to their first league game in 1970, had just scored to win in Game 7 in sudden-death overtime.

That after blowing a three-game lead in the series.

And after blowing a 1-0 lead in the final two minutes of the game.

So after getting up at 4 in the morning to quietly, ever so quietly steal away into the dark reaches of the Internet to capture a live stream and watch – with headphones on – one of the most exciting games I’ve ever seen, well…

Sorry ladies.  I’m sure I’ll hear about it from the rest of the neighbourhood sooner or later.


13 Responses to “Canucks beat Blackhawks, Hamburg balcony explodes”


  1. April 27, 2011 at 6:46 am

    A perfectly understandable reaction.

  2. 2 lilalia
    April 27, 2011 at 6:55 am

    It’s touching that you’ve waited so long and finally, way far away, you get to see the triumph. Went online and watched the highlights. How thrilled you must be. Great photo.

  3. 3 G
    April 27, 2011 at 7:23 am

    Wow, what gorgeous wisteria.

  4. April 27, 2011 at 7:23 am

    I had a similar experience with the World Series 20 years ago, except it involved a shortwave radio on Mallorca…

  5. April 27, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Congratulations to you and your Canucks. My condolences to the women in your life, and the people in your neighborhood ;-)

  6. April 27, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Was wondering what all the ruckus was about! (PS looks like it’s finally warming up. :)

    • April 27, 2011 at 8:46 am

      This is the very first time I’ve watched anything live on the internet, and for it to come out like it did was just fantastic. Too bad any games in the future are going to involved the same wake-up call.

      I’m glad someone noticed that wisteria! :-) The scent is almost overpowering.

  7. April 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Congrats to the team – glad you had the opportunity to enjoy it. The wisteria’s gorgeous.Ours bloomed about 3-4 weeks ago – nothing but foliage now. I wish it lasted longer.

  8. April 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Son is a huge Canucks fan. I can’t wait to tell him about it when he wakes up.

  9. April 29, 2011 at 11:46 am

    I’d sure rather be a Canucks fan than a Madrid fan right now. Congratulations!

  10. 12 Gordon
    May 17, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Wisteria?!?! I thought it was just purdy, blue, flars!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 520,037 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

