04
Feb
12

Praying for more cold so there’s skating in Holland

It’s so cold here the rivers are starting to freeze up.  But I wish it were even colder, and stayed that way for at least another two weeks.   That way the canals of Holland will once again be safe for miles and miles of skating.

Just a little over three years ago I raced 550km from Hamburg to just south of Rotterdam for the chance to slip on the skates and slide around the windmills for three days.

And now that a Russian winter has invaded western Europe, could it happen again?  A lot of people are guessing it might.  Every day this past week dozens of people have been landing on this moribund blog after googling skating in holland.

I’d do anything to be able to do it all over again.  There’s nothing else in winter quite like it.


7 Responses to “Praying for more cold so there’s skating in Holland”


  1. February 4, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Wow! It looks amazing!!

    Courtney

  2. February 5, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    I love the “shades of gray” style to the picture. Love the other post with pics and video too.

  3. 4 hmunro
    February 6, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    Skating on Rotterdam’s canals?! Just went back to read your original post and it is *wonderful.* What a fun insight into an aspect of Dutch life I’d never heard about before. Loved the beautiful photos, too — especially the one of the skaters crawling under the bridge. Brilliant!

  4. February 7, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Three years ago? THREE? Oh, my gosh. I can’t believe that. I can see those photos as clearly in my mind as if I’d just clicked over there. Testimony to your skill, for sure.

    I hope you get your ice. People here are distraught over a significant lack of cold and snow – meaning, of course, a lack of moisture and early warning of drought. At least if our cold had to depart for elsewhere, you may get some benefit from it.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 517,955 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

