08
Feb
12

Dutch skating world on edge as 11-city tour may be announced

What the hell am I doing in Paris?

Talk about horrible timing.  Don’t make me wrong, I like being here, my old friend and I are having a great time and we’ve still got lots of  things lined up to do, BUT:

The famous Dutch 11-city skating tour might be announced this week!

There have been thousands of volunteers working to prepare the course.  All that remains is the go-ahead that the ice is safe enough with an overall thickness of at least 15cm.  If the race actually happens, 16,000 people will take part for the first time in 15 years.  The canals have frozen enough to skate a couple of times since then, but never enough to allow the Dutch to re-open this legendary race.

Not that I’d actually be foolish enough to punish myself with more than 200 km of skating in one go.  My  legs were rubber after about 70km three years ago, and that was just leisurely sliding all day.  These guys go flat out – the record is under seven hours!

I have to arrange time off to get over there.  It has to stay cold another few days after I get back.  Damn you, Paris.


6 Responses to “Dutch skating world on edge as 11-city tour may be announced”


  1. 1 G
    February 9, 2012 at 9:12 am

    My skates arrived yesterday, but I don’t think I will be ready to hit the NL with you this year:-). It’s just snowing heavily now, though.

  2. February 10, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Since you didn’t leave a link to your marvelous post about your previous experience of skating in Holland I did it for you.

    That was one of the most magical posts – I can only imagine your frustration at (sigh) having to be in Paris (oh, woe) while skating conditions in Holland (yes?) are just marvelous.

    Maybe Holland will accomodate you by staying frozen for a while!

    • February 10, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      I have studiously avoided going onto any site that might show the skating, just so I won’t be tempted to say screw it and book a train north! But I’m flying back on Sunday and maybe a skate around the Alster – Hamburg’s huge city-centre lake – will be enough for now. I can’t see it staying this cold forever. Of course if it does, I just might go back to Holland, if only for a day or two.

  3. February 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Wow, sounds like quite an event!

  4. March 10, 2012 at 12:35 am

    What a great photo. Sound amazing…must put on my list to do…watch, that is, no way could actually skate at that level!


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 588 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 508,841 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

