27
Jun
12

How to make a strawberry pyramid

You could do it the easy way.

Step 1.  Buy a whole whack of strawberries.

Step 2. Stack ‘em.

But that would be too easy.

Better to take that fruit and jam it.

I jam strawberries, raspberries and blackberries every summer.  My mother used to make jam as well, but hers was a long, complicated process involving paraffin wax to seal the jars, and a bit of voodoo.  I do it the easy way.

1. Clean the berries.

2. Sterilise the jars and lids you’re going to use by boiling about a half-inch of water in a big pot with the lid on.

3.  Take a kilo and a half of berries, add a half-kilo of pectin/sugar mix – the one with the 3:1 ratio so you use less sugar – and throw in a small packet of citric acid.

3b. Pour that stuff in!

4. Joyfully slash the pot with a knife to cut up the berries, then boil the crap out of them for three minutes while stirring and stamping down with a potato masher.

5. Pour the still-boiling mixture into the jars up to the brim.

6. Drop a lid loosely on each jar, then get a towel – because the jars will be super-hot – and tighten the lids as hard as you can.

7. Turn the jars over and let them cool.

8.  Ummm… that’s about it.  It takes me about an hour and a half now that I’m organised.

OH!  Make that strawberry pyramid:


11 Responses to “How to make a strawberry pyramid”


  1. June 27, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Lol… I might as well take the easier route ;) But well the tougher one seems more delicious :)

  2. June 27, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Fantastic! Looks like a year’s supply. We used to take a trip to the Okanagen every summer and then my mum would can fruit and make jam like a madwoman, paraffin wax and all. Nice memories.

    • June 27, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      I think the paraffin wax must be a Canadian/N.American thing. One summer early on here I started to gather everything together to make jam that way, and my wife says, what the heck are you doing??? She showed me how they do it here, and since then that’s the way it’s been. I like how you can hear the lids go -pock!- when they cool upside-down. :-)

  3. 4 Cat
    June 27, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Why do you turn them over?

  4. June 28, 2012 at 11:48 am

    My mother used to use paraffin wax, so maybe it’s a New Zealand thing too. The jam looks delicious and I particularly like the first photo with the blue punnets. did you save any berries for daiquiris?

  5. June 29, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    It’s summer! Ian’s back in the kitchen! I’d always done the paraffin too, until a country friend showed me your method. It works well. The photos are beautiful, but I don’t think that would be a year’s supply around here. ;-)

  6. 10 Michele J
    July 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Lovely and impressive! I tend to prefer freezer jam myself – it’s even more idiot-proof IMO (not that you are an idiot, I am). Someday when I have a freezer bigger than a bread box…

    • July 18, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      We’ve got so many jars accumulated over the years, we’d never fill them all with two years worth of jam, so freezer doesn’t make sense. One year we had do do something with all the blackberries I picked, so I just put them in the downstairs freezer and made pies in the winter. Hmmmmm…..


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 524,013 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

