26
Feb
13

Is it legal in Germany to shower nude in front of the window for all to see?

I’ve nothing against nudity.  I’m nude quite a lot, especially in the German sauna, sharing space with genders masculine, feminine, and neuter

But there’s a time and space for everything, and this morning, I said to myself, enough’s enough.  Why do we have to avoid our front window every morning because we don’t want to suffer the sight once again of some asscrack who lives in an apartment across the courtyard on the same level as ours drying off his package?

If he were schlendering around the sauna landscape looking for his flip-flops while he flipped and flopped around, I wouldn’t bat an eyelash.

But the window is as a thin layer that separates little from the public space and the private, especially when it’s dark out and you’re standing in a room with all the lights on.

So if it’s normally not legal to be walking around nude in public, is it legal to do so in your own space for all to see?

Do we have to put up with this?  I don’t engage my German-resident readers enough even when I’m blogging regularly, but I’m asking you now: what do you know about cases like this?  Can we do or say anything or is he free to carry on as he pleases?


19 Responses to “Is it legal in Germany to shower nude in front of the window for all to see?”


  1. February 26, 2013 at 8:17 am

    Personally I would take photos of the guy and then post them on a blog.

    Oh wait…

  2. 4 Max
    February 26, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Ahhh… Life in the big cities of the North where different cultures and values clash on a daily basis… After 6 months of volunteering in Africa, I no longer bat an eye at the sight of a group of naked people washing (and usually laughing) in the river two minutes away from the house… As for the guy showering across the street, look the other way or pull the blinds down for a few minutes…. or go over and TALK to the guy… He probably is unaware of all the fuss… Sorry, Ian.

    • February 26, 2013 at 10:13 am

      Hi Max,
      Of course it’s all about culture, but my neighbours are German, too, and they’re not too pleased about it either. I also don’t think we should be the ones to be living behind closed curtains just because we don’t like the view. I really also cannot see how the guy can be so clueless as to not know that his full-frontal displays just might cause some in the audience to disapprove. But you’re right, and so are others – we’ll have to talk to him. I’d prefer the anonymous note at the risk of its appearance on passive-aggressive notes dot com.

  3. 6 Miss Z
    February 26, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Maybe give him a wolf whistle and yell out “Yeah, baby, shake that thang!” or whatever the equivalent of that is auf deutsch. It might make him think twice, especially coming from a man! I know it’s a bit vulgar… but if he has the right to shake his bare backside in his own home than you also have the freedom to shout whatever you like in your own home. ;) Just make sure you let your neighbours know of your plans, first!

  4. February 26, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Maybe you could post the picture you took on a couple of light poles outside his door….

  5. February 26, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Never happened to me nor am I sure it would bother me.

    But:
    It’s not legal to walk around in public naked (designated spots which feature warning signs excepted). The offense is called ‘Erregung öffentlichen Ärgernisses’ or some such. So it might also not be legal to walk around naked in front of your window for all to see.

    I’d suggest first talking to the guy (or drop an anonymus letter) and if he still doesn’t bother to close the curtains, go to the police. And no, I don’t think that is overkill. It is what I would do if someone played his music too loud.

    • February 26, 2013 at 10:15 am

      The law you quote is what I’ve read about it too – it’s considered a minor infraction, not a crime, but it’s on the books nevertheless. I’ve yet to see any specific mention to constant displays behind your own window, though.

  6. 11 hmunro
    February 26, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    At the risk of being boring and far too practical, I think it’s time for you and your other offended neighbors to join forces and draft a note explaining that, while “Free Willy” was a delightful movie, you’d rather not see Willy on the rampage every morning. I suspect that the addition of a little photographic evidence would elicit enough shame to take care of the problem. And if not, you know you’re dealing with an exhibitionist — and *then* you can call the police. In any case, I wish you and your neighbors luck. There has to be a better way to start your day, eh?

  7. February 26, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    Oh wow. That’s special! No tips for you, but the others have given some good advice, I think.

    I had to chuckle at your tag of “asshat” on this post. How fitting.

  8. February 27, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    It’s easy for me to laugh as I’m not being greeted with this sight every day. How about getting a neighborhood petition together? He obviously has a landlord unless he owns the building so maybe reporting him to the manager and or landlord by way of petition would work.

    P.S. There’s always the possibility that he’s fully aware that he’s putting on a daily show. He could be enjoying having the audience.

  9. 14 Betsy
    February 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    I can’t believe he doesn’t know that he’s visible to everyone and their mother. He’s probably an exhibitionist and gets some sort of twisted pleasure out of the little show he’s putting on for you. I agree with hmunro..

  10. February 27, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    I’ve not a clue about German laws, of course. After a couple of weeks trying to deal with yappy dogs, all I can think is, “Well, at least he’s not making any noise.”

    My best guess is that he’s either completely oblivious to the possibility that someone might be watching, or he’s hoping someone is watching. The best part of the story is that you reminded me of the infamous Ebay Teakettle Man .

  11. March 22, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Do a public post in facebook inviting everyone to the shower hour. It could backfire though, into even more regular performances.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 522,114 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

