12
Mar
13

Adolf Hitler is my idle —- still more search terms that coughed up this blog

While I recover from a bad ski injury – sure to be blogged about because I now have a lot of time to lie around the house – I thought I’d clean out my draft post drawer.  Much easier than cleaning out your sock drawer.

Here’s one that’s been sitting around for a bit.

One of the wonderful things wretched bloggers get to look forward to every once in a while is a look at the dashboard behind the pretty facade to find a fresh batch of search terms to ponder.  Over the years – just check that sidebar – the anonymous masses have entered quite a selection of terms into the great algorithmic storm that is Google, but that list is getting a little dusty.  An update is long overdue.

Adolf Hitler is my idle

turkey-turkei-istanbul-shopping-hitler-chess-piecesNo doubt our homophonically challenged goose-stepper was on the prowl for fodder to shore up his twisted worldview.  I wouldn’t be surprised if the image that popped up on his screen was either that of a flatulent Führer overflowing the throne, or of the swastika-splashed chess set we came across in an alleyway windowshop in Istanbul.

Stork sex

storks-mating-rooftop-nest-paarung

Say. No. More!

Snake eats man

python-swallows-dog-head-chopped-off-hong-kong-sai-kungNo, it doesn’t!  Snake eats cat, though.  For the longest time I thought it was a little dog hanging out of the business end of that 6-foot long reptile an old girlfriend and I nearly stumbled over while out on a hike in the wild northeastern pathways of Hong Kong.  It took a commenter to point out the little feline paws.

Cheerleader shits herself

Ewww… But in the interest of truth and openness, it must be included.  The search for inspirational incontinence may have failed this time, but this blog’s cheerleader photos still get lots of viewers:

landerspiel-kanada-deutschland-hamburg-cheerleaders

dutch chicks ice skating naked

You will never find this, ever, so stop looking.  Dutch people take their ice skating far too seriously to be caught sliding around the windmills bare-assed to the wind.  But googling ice skating holland usually brings up at least two or three of my photos, including this one…

ice-skating-holland-netherlands-kinderdijk-windmills-molentocht-skaters

…which one blogger recently saw fit to steal without attribution, a link back, or so much as a fuck you, sucker.  Bloggers like that should be banished to myspace.  At least she had the decency to take it down when I complained.

i think most of us would be horrified to meet ourselves and discover what everyone else already knows about us- calvin and hobbes

Sometimes I read over old posts and can’t recognise the person who wrote it.  Have things changed that much in six years?


3 Responses to “Adolf Hitler is my idle —- still more search terms that coughed up this blog”


  1. March 12, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    lol, banished to Myspace. That was funny.

  2. March 13, 2013 at 2:06 am

    Oh, shoot. Sorry to hear about the unexpected down time. Now, inquiring minds want to know. Have you straightened things out with your exhibitionist neighbor, or are his antics going to be an on-going irritation while you’re recuperating?

    Love the look back. Your Dutch skating photos are the best. I don’t think there’s a thing wrong with pulling out posts from the archives. There’s some good stuff back there. You had a couple of posts about blogging that were hilarious. I found the one about the Buddha, but I can’t find the other one. It was just rich. I’d not mind seeing that again at all. After alll, we don’t listen to a favorite song just once.;)

    While I was mucking about trying to find those posts, I found your comment over at Martin Karaffa’s little essay on the role of the Church in Bavaria. I was greatly amused to find this in the body of his essay: “In German-speaking cultures, order is valued as a moral virtue, rather than just a practical necessity. Sometimes disorder can be a moral virtue, too. It can cultivate flexibility, perspective, and open-mindedness.”

    I laughed because, after my mom’s death, I found an old envelope tucked in with her greeting cards and such. On the back, she’d written, “Being disorganized is not a moral problem.” I assume she’d heard it on tv or read it. For whatever reason, she thought it worth recording. Perhaps it was a word of permission to let the housekeeping go that week.

    In any event, I kept the envelope and framed it. I have to admit – this is one of the things that makes the internet so interesting. You never know where the connections are going to appear.

    Happy healing!

    • March 13, 2013 at 5:46 am

      Linda, my faithful reader and even more faithful commenter, I will be telling all and sundry about the events of the past 10 days as soon as more dust settles and I get back from the surgeon who this morning will be taking over post-op care for my ripped quadriceps tendon.

      Thanks for the digging around among the dusty old archives here at the Lettershome HQ. I know it looks like recycling, but to be perfectly honest I have a feeling my best output on this site is behind me, so why not point new readers – if there are any – the way to have a look?

      I’m so glad you linked to Martin Karaffa, aka Marty, who actually dropped in to see me while I was in hospital in Switzerland. He’s one of the best social commenters I’ve come across about life in Deutschland, you know. I’m happy to subscribe to a quarterly magazine about Bavaria just so I can get his column – translated into German! – delivered in print to my home. The column about the church in Bavaria stirred up quite a pot when it appeared.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 520,170 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

