17
Apr
13

Hooray-hooray, it’s not yet May, but rehab starts a week today

I’d love to do a leaping dance, but under the circumstances, maybe not.

Only a few days after receiving word that my medical rehab has been approved by the Berlin powers-that-be I get a call from the clinic saying my three-week program starts April 24.  Yipppeeee!  :)  I had been counting on it starting only sometime after the first weekend in May.  The clinic here in Hamburg has a great reputation and has just re-opened in brand-new facilities.

It’s just in time.

I’ve ditched the brace that had been clasped to the leg from ankle to hip for six weeks to keep the knee stable after the operation, but there’s still so little movement in the knee, I get worried that it’ll never be the same again.  It’s hard to see over the lip of the hill when you’re standing at the base.

I now get around mostly without crutches with a tension bandage around the knee, but it’s a hop-along scene.  This is what it looked like four days ago when I made the switch:

A friend congratulated me on the quick approval for rehab, saying all the pain they’ll be putting me through to stretch out the tendon again will be worth it.

I can’t wait…


11 Responses to “Hooray-hooray, it’s not yet May, but rehab starts a week today”


  1. April 17, 2013 at 9:22 am

    I didn’t realize it was so serious. Good luck with the rehab!

    • April 17, 2013 at 12:40 pm

      Oi, Indie! At one point they were going to helicopter me to hospital! Glad I opted for the sensible approach, but it still meant five nights there. Your Quadriceps tendon is the biggest one in the body. You really miss it when it’s cut in two.

  2. April 17, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Great news! Glad to hear there’s a light at the top of the hill, to, erm, mix up my metaphors.

    Wishing you a speedy recovery and that this whole experience will soon seem like a distant dream…

  3. 4 healthiestbeauty
    April 17, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  4. April 18, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    I wish you the best of luck in the speediest of recoveries over the flattest of hills.

  5. April 19, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Oh, wonderful! When my friend who broke her knee had her full-length brace taken off, she had the ability to bend her leg about fifteen degrees. In three weeks, she was to 90 degrees, and it wasn’t much longer – maybe a week – that she was to 120 degrees.

    The one thing she said was that it was critically important to go only as far as the therapist said and not try to push things along behind their backs. She ran into complications because of the need for a skin graft, but she’s back home now and driving again. Stairs give her a little problem because she still hasn’t regained her strength, but as she rightfully points out, she doesn’t’ have any stairs, anyway.

    Best of luck!

    • April 20, 2013 at 3:10 am

      Hi Linda,
      When you say broken knee, do you mean ligaments, tendon, or bone? Lots going on there, but I guess the result is the same: it just does not want to bend unless you work at it. My goal after rehab is to be able to have enough movement so that I can ride a bike without pain. Building strength will take care of itself if I can just make it back on the bike.

      • April 20, 2013 at 3:11 am

        She got three for the price of one – ligaments, tendon AND bone! “Smooshed” is the technical word, I think.

      • April 20, 2013 at 3:36 am

        She got really lucky, then. I find it amazing she achieved so much movement in so short a time. Was that after three or four weeks of intensive rehab?

      • April 20, 2013 at 3:49 am

        I just gave her a call – she had two weeks of intensive therapy – every day, including Saturday and Sunday. Then, 3X a week for a couple of weeks. By that time, she could do her exercises herself and was ready to go home. She had home health come in 3X a week for two weeks, and then 2X a week.

        And here’s the good news – she is 76 years old and not exactly athletic or in good physical shape. She had started working with a trainer to build strength about six months before the accident, so she was better off than she would have been. Still, you’ve got youth and conditioning on your side!

      • April 20, 2013 at 3:58 am

        True, I’ve got a few years on her. If I can manage the same progress and be able to build on it after I get out, that will be fantastic. I have three weeks of holiday to take at home after the rehab is over, so I can go to gyms and get out on my own, I guess.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 522,503 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

