11
May
13

A little bit more every day

Things are coming along.  To compare:

Four weeks post-op:

Quadriceps tendon ripped bending knee

Seven weeks post-op:

Knee injury quadriceps tendon rupture

Today, just shy of 10 weeks post-op

Knee flex post-op 10 weeks

Of all the things I’ve had to do to get this knee to flex again, this has to be the most difficult:

Knee flex rope pull

It’s part of about 90 minutes in what the physios at rehab call the torture chamber.  When you arrive you’re given a set of exercises that target your problem.  I’ve got about 10 different things to do in order to build up my quadriceps muscles and flex the knee, and could go into detail about each one, but that photo is all you need.  It’s the worst.

The rope is appropriate, because it’s like self-flagellation.  I flex it as far as the muscles will take it, then start pulling slowly on the rope until it hurts.  Then I pull just a little bit more and hold it for 30 seconds.  After about 15 seconds, you start to go a little numb in the head, but wake up again when it’s time to release it.  Then the pain comes back double as you slowly let the foot down to the floor.  Repeat six times, once a day.

Good news!  I get to keep doing this.  My rehab is going to be extended one week, after which I will have the opportunity to drop by the centre for a workout as often as I like.  Physio should also continue twice a week after rehab finishes May 21st.


10 Responses to “A little bit more every day”


  1. May 11, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Annoying, but do it. Word to the wise…it will be amusing later…much later

  2. May 12, 2013 at 2:03 am

    Great progress there. It’s amazing how those exercises can do so much good and so quickly. I’ll confess that you remind me a bit of a badly trussed chicken in that last photo, but….

  3. May 12, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Great photojournalism, continued success.

  4. May 13, 2013 at 12:44 am

    Wow. Keep up the good work! I presume beer is helping you through this, too.

    • May 13, 2013 at 3:54 am

      Well, actually, I hardly touch beer anymore. Not being able do do any sports means you start to gain weight pretty fast, so I’ve cut out a lot of stuff I like, but have still managed to gain 4 Kg over the past few weeks.

      Besides, I have to take ibuprofen to keep down the inflammation and keep the pain down for the workouts, and not sure if the booze would be a good idea with it.

  5. 7 Davey
    May 13, 2013 at 1:19 am

    The saying is trite, but so appropriate, ” a picture says….” looks to be coming along well, Ian. Keep up the good work! (Bet it hurts loads!)

  6. May 29, 2013 at 5:47 am

    It looks like you making great progress Ian and that makes me so happy. It’s good news that the rehab has been extended and that you are getting the physio you need. May you heal quickly and completely.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 522,331 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

