03
Jun
13

Back on the mountain bike again and it feels great

Ian back on the bikeIt felt so good to be on the bike again – my real bike, not my daughter’s and definitely not the one that replaced the one that split in two as I was crossing the road last year – that I rode 45km along the Elbe just because.

Tuesday it will be three months since my ski injury, and only three weeks ago the physiotherapist at rehab said to me in a gentle, roundabout kind of way that my goal of getting back on the mountain bike would have to wait.

“I think we all knew that riding again by the end of your time here wasn’t going to be,” she said, “but I think by the end of the year you’ll be ready.”

The end of the year?  Another seven months of taking the bus?  I went home feeling despondent.  I was making progress on getting the knee to bend more and more, so why such a long, drawn-out recovery?  Maybe she was just trying to make sure I wouldn’t get my hopes up too high for a quick return to full range of motion.

By some scheduling quirk they assigned me a different physiotherapist the next week.  She’s no better than the first one, but somehow she stretched me out one day so much, it made all the difference.

That same afternoon – the Friday of week three – I got up on the exercise bike, the real one, the one with the real crank and not the one you adjust shorter for those with limited flexibility – and gave it a turn.  And another.  And another.  I could not believe it.  It felt tight at the top of the circle, but I could do it just fine.  I was so happy, I wanted to scream with joy.  It was like climbing to the top of a ridge when you’re heading for the summit and taking in an incredible view knowing that you’re finally over the first big push.  I clenched my fists, bowed my head,  wanted to scream but couldn’t, so it just happened – a gush of tears.  I could not hold them back.  I was so happy, so incredibly overjoyed at once again proving to myself my leg was going to get better enough to allow me to do this simple task once again.  I tried to hide it by swiping my towel, taking in deep breaths, but it didn’t work.  It was like a release from weeks of frustration and doubt.

I looked over to my right to the desk at the corner of the gym and there she was, the physio who only two hours before had had both my legs stretched out on the table saying, “Gee, you’re really doing this well.”

I wiped off my face and walked over to where she was sitting, leaned over and said as sincerely as I could, “thank you! Thank you!  Thank you!”  She didn’t know what I meant, but I pointed over to the bike and said, “over there, the bike – I can do it!”

I led her over and got back on and showed her, thanked her again, and kept on it for another 20 minutes.

Yesterday, after practising in the  meantime on my daughter’s bike, and the dreaded split-in-two bike, I took out my bike – the one I watched them build from scratch – and took it for a spin.  The right thigh might still resemble a sausage with a slice down one end, but it bends and is getting stronger.  It feels great.


13 Responses to “Back on the mountain bike again and it feels great”


  1. June 3, 2013 at 8:23 am

    I’m so happy for you, Ian! I wondered how long it would take for you to get back on two wheels.
    All the best of luck for a speedy recovery.

    • June 3, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      Thanks, all! I don’t know if the flooding in south Germany has made the overseas news, but up here in Hamburg it’s been beautiful last couple of days. Just came back from an evening ride – it’s too nice to pass up and the air is fantastic.

  2. June 3, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Permit me a small HUZZAH! :)

  3. 4 Max
    June 3, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Bravo, Ian! Au plaisir de pédaler bientôt avec toi à Vancouver!
    Petit conseil: SVP n’en fais pas trop quand même les premiers jours…
    À bientôt,

    Max

  4. 6 hmunro
    June 3, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Yay!! So glad to *see* your progress, Ian! That video of you at the end really made me smile. Best wishes for a continued speedy recovery.

  5. June 4, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Hooray for you! Good news, Ian!

  6. June 4, 2013 at 9:59 am

    That’s fantastic news, Ian! I’m glad to hear you’re recovering well!

  7. June 4, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    Look at those grins! I’m so happy for you. I’d been wondering how things were going – a little afraid that the doldrums had arrived. But you’re through them now, that’s for sure.

    Happy forward progress!

  8. June 4, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Big smiles (and have read about the floods)
    Glad the weather’s nice – (they are predicting 100 degrees here this weekend.)
    Nice pictures!

  9. July 17, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Hooray for getting back on bike. Enjoy those spinning wheels….and legs!

  10. July 18, 2013 at 8:05 am

    Good to hear about your recovery. Here’s to steeper hills for healthy and steeper knees. There’s probably no way better to appreciate health more fully than to lose it and then regain it.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 518,340 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

