04
Oct
13

Howe Sound Sea to Sky and Vancouver slideshow

After a solid week of rain, the clearing skies reveal the season’s first snowfalls on the surrounding peaks.

It’s easy to forget all that wet when what comes after looks like this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I must have driven that highway more than a thousand times over the years, seldom stopping to take in the scenery.  Took it for granted it would always be there.  But it changes all the time with the light and season, and in what’s amounting to a pre-retirement trial run, these days I’m not in much of a hurry.  So I did two things nobody else seems to do on that highway: drove the speed limit, and turned off to look around at every viewpoint.

A bit of a dangerous move nonetheless.  Standing on the new dock at Porteau I had this stab of regret at having left all this beauty behind one day so long ago.

One photo I could not get because there was no place to pull over I’ll just have to describe.  Locals will know what I’m talking about.

Driving south of Windy Point just after the new cut before you go over Deeks Creek you could see a long bank of cloud to the south hovering over the ridge above Horseshoe Bay.

Although the entire east side of the Sound was in still in dark shadow, that cloud bank was acting like a giant light disperser, diffusing the bright sunlight from behind the ridge to bathe that part beneath it on the eastern side in clear, white light.  Trees and ridges popped into view out of the shadow, the shoreline a strange orange glow.  Come to think of it, I don’t think my camera would have captured it.


6 Responses to “Howe Sound Sea to Sky and Vancouver slideshow”


  1. October 4, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    I know exactly the spot you are describing, Ian….that bit of “cove” below the highway that Deeks Creek runs down to has always caught my eye….it is one of the few spots along the road that can give you a real sense of just how steep the mountain is while dropping into the ocean. And as you said, sad that there is no where to stop and enjoy it any more.

    • October 4, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      Removing the turnout at Windy Point was the biggest sacrifice to the upgrade for sure.

      That sheer wall you see in front of you after the cut heading toward Deeks Creek I used to call the polka dots for the random patterns the deciduous trees turning colour in the fall. Must have been about four at the time when I pointed it out to Mom and it stuck! Still remember how she took me into Vancouver every day for three months in 1964 when my grandfather was ailing in Shaughnessy hospital shortly before he passed away.

  2. October 6, 2013 at 1:53 am

    There’s just nothing to say, except it’s beautiful. Well, and this – how lucky you are to get to return. All of us leave something behind, but not everyone gets to go back and appreciate it with new eyes.

  3. November 5, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    The Howe Sound Fjord is spectacular and your photos do it justice. I’m so blessed to live in this gorgeous province and in the Salish Sea and I’ll never take that for granted.

  4. February 12, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Hey Ian,
    It looks spectacular. There’s certainly nothing like it in in Berlin ;)
    I hope you’re doing well!
    Best,
    IB


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 517,953 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

