30
Sep
09

Pittsburgh in a state of incline

Pittsburgh surprised me.

Not that I expected the city to live down to its insulting name tags – Ditchburgh, Pits-burgh – but I discovered during my five days there last week that the city doesn’t deserve them at all.

Maybe it did during the bad old days when soot-belching steel plants blackening the daytime skies, but those days haven’t been around for more than three decades.

But if the city has indeed transformed itself into a self-billed magnet for green, high-tech industry, there remain a few places where you can get a sense of what the place must have been like when its citizens lived and breathed among a smouldering mass of steel mills.

Pittsburgh g20 Duquesne Incline lower station

One of them is the Duquesne Incline (say doo-KANE.)  It’s a short, sweet ride up the riverbank to a spot overlooking three major rivers, a football stadium, countless bridges and the downtown skyline.

As a railway fan, I loved it.  Arriving at the lower station from across the street you climb a rickety, rusted-out stairway, cross an overpass, turn to enter the station, pay your four bucks to a man behind a cage sitting across from a pot-bellied stove, click through the turnstiles, turn the corner while taking in that familiar, comforting smell of musty wood and creosote, and enter the beautifully preserved wood-paneled car.

Pittsburgh g20 Duquesne Incline no smoking Except for a brief period in the early 1960s when the operators ran out of money, they’ve been hauling passengers and freight up and down this hill first under steam – and now under electric power – since 1877.   Pittsburgh g20 Duquesne Incline paint peeling yellow

As we slowly climbed the 30-degree slope above layers of Pennsylvania coal, a woman riding with us mentioned that some days you can spot deer and wild turkey roaming the underbrush near the rail  platform.

At the top you step into an unpretentious museum filled with icons and photos of Pittsburgh’s past.    I especially liked reading the long and detailed first-hand accounts of what it was like to live in the neighbourhood and take the tram every day to work – 250 people still do today – and was astounded how the gritty photos taken from the same spot 70 years ago contrasted so starkly with the clean, post-industrial city just below the windows.

As I slowly walked around the displays, I was thankful that local residents cared enough to save this moving landmark, still holding out after 132 years on generous applications of time, money, and teak oil varnish.

Pittsburgh g20 Duquesne Incline car in foreground skyline

But the highlight for me was the beast’s roiling underbelly, where for five dimes extra I spent an hour taking in the rumble, gong and clatter of the engine room’s bullwheels, cable drum and wooden-toothed drive gear.

Pittsburgh g20 duquesne incline engine roomEver been in a museum and found yourself reading without taking anything in?  I’m no engineer, but standing on the platform overlooking the incline’s working innards as clanging bells signaled the start of another trip, I couldn’t get enough of the displays.

From how they used carved blocks of Rock Maple as teeth for the main wheel to where they got the idea to place the original steam engine at a 90-degree angle to the tracks – a trick to save space on land, actually – I was fascinating by the technical ingenuity that went into its design and construction.

Back upstairs, I was in for another treat.  Spread out over half a wall are two showcases crammed with old and fading visitors’ postcards of inclined railways and lifts from around the world.

Going over the display was like stumbling through my life history.

Pittsburgh g20 Duquesne Incline postcard mt hermon neve ativ Not only were there depictions of Vancouver’s  Grouse Mountain Skyride – both the old and the new – as well as Hong Kong’s Peak Tram, the Table Mountain cable car in Cape Town, and others in Lisbon, Paris, and Chamonix, but I was astounded to see a copy of a postcard I actually own from my three life-changing months of ski patrolling at Mount Hermon in the Golan Heights, Israel in 1980-81.

>heavy sigh<

I wish every road trip for work were like this.  Time to walk around and focus, get some kind of feel for the place I’m in, instead of the usual fly-taxi-work-taxi-fly routine.


7 Responses to “Pittsburgh in a state of incline”


  1. October 1, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Ah, Ian. If I had known you were in Pittsburgh, I would have given you several of my more congenial relatives to look up.

    When my family left Pittsburgh, it was, indeed, a dreadful place. Not just smoky and polluted, but mean-spirited, and worn down by the tough work the city had chosen as its livelihood.

    When I visit the place nowadays, I can’t get old Pittsburgh out of my head. No matter how dramatic the change has been.

  2. October 1, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I grew up a stone’s throw from Pitts’boyg. To this day I can remember how it smelled in the 70’s. It was as though the city was draped in thick coal dust filtered through an iron smelter.
    Last year we went for a visit to my old home. The ride from the airport through the city was certainly not what I remember. The old mills had been reclaimed or torn down, the air was breathable and the sky was blue. It’s great to see a city make such a turnaround.

  3. October 4, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Isn’t travel just the best? I love finding “hidden” treasures like this. I confess my heart went pitty-pat when I saw the interior of that car – ‘spose they need a varnisher?

    I was caught by the brief mention of early steam power for the tram. I’ve discovered steampunk recently, and am amazed how many applications of steam power I’m suddenly coming across. What a setting for a steampunk novel this would be!

  4. 7 TC
    October 6, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Wow, who knew? I may look for a cheap flight to Pittsburgh – I want to see for myself. Looks lovely.


Leave a Reply

The banner photograph shows the town of Britannia Beach, BC, Canada, where I grew up. It's home. But I don't live there anymore.

My email

britbeach / at / yahoo dot ca

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 588 other followers

SUBSCRIBE! Or I’ll post again.

This blog is best consumed with a glass of wine and often a grain of salt. Take a random look:

twitter-i-send-pointless-little-messages

This blog has been visited

  • 532,929 times.

A few reasons why I sometimes get homesick

HoweSound2

HoweSound1

Squamish

MiningMuseum

More Photos

1oo% Blogthings-free since January, 2007

and one last factoid about me: according to these people, i can type per minute

OK, that wasn’t the last thing on the sidebar, but this is:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

